

Team Tennis Tournament

Fort Lincoln Park
Washington, DC
July 14~August 18, 2021



Team Tennis Committee Acknowledges "Hot Action" and Unwavering Membership Support



1-r: Alice Lee, CEO & President Emeritus, Marilyn Lanier-Nolley, Editor, Rubye Stevens, Match Coordinator and David Merriwether, President

Not pictured: Andrea Brown, Luncheon Coordinator and Horace Carpenter, Advisor

The Active Aces Super Seniors Tennis Club has sponsored Team Tennis tournaments since 2010. This year, four teams competed to raise the trophy. The teams are as follows: Hot Action, Forthcoming, The Players, and The Strikers. Congratulations to Hot Action, the winning team. They implemented strategy and dictated play throughout the tournament. Impressive tennis was played by each team.

The committee thanks everyone who helped to make the tournament a success including Rodney Lewis, Photographer; Andrea Brown, Luncheon Coordinator; Francine Walden and Gwen Brown for their assistance. A special thank you to Otelia Redman, a member of club, who developed the tournament modeled after World Team Tennis (WTT). The primary purpose was to provide continued competitive play for club members who had discontinued playing in USTA league tennis competitions. The new model also generated spectator support while continuing to build member comradery and growth of club membership.

Congratulation Remarks to "Hot Action" the Winning Team



David Merriwether, President, AASSTC



Trophy Presentation



1-r: William Brown, Joseph Ajayi, Geraldine Edwards, Team Captain, Nellie Lowe, Mazelle Pernell, Richard Hawkins and Lisa Thomas (not visible)

Rubye Stevens, Match Coordinator and lifetime member of the AASSTC, presented the trophy to HOT ACTION. Rubye was accompanied by David Merriwether, President, of the club. Geraldine (Gerri) Edwards, Team Captain, accepted the trophy on behalf of the team. Gerri commented, "it was truly team effort that enabled our team to win the trophy. We had some strong players on the team this year. The strategy was to match our strongest players with our opponents' weakest team players."



THE 2021 TEAMS



"HOT ACTION"

1-r: Mazelle Pernell, Nellie Lowe, William Brown, Geraldine Edwards, Team Captain, Lisa Thomas, Joseph Ajayi and Richard Hawkins



"FORTHCOMING"

1-r: Ambrose Sampson, Toni Hamlin, Lois Bowe, Co-Captain and John Holmes

Not Pictured:

Judy Hasbrouck, Sharon Russell, Jessie Berry, Team Captain



"THE PLAYERS"

1-r: Edison Gore, Otelia Redman, Marilyn Lanier-Nolley, Ray Stover, Andrea Brown, Percy Mitchell, Team Captain

Not Pictured: Tanya Blackwell and Donita Buffalo



"THE STRIKERS"

1-r: Rodney Lewis, Jill Mitchell, Gregory Minnis, Ester Oliver and Charles Gross, Team Captain

> Not pictured: Meglan K.