
Good morning and Happy New Year! 
 
Intentional fouls. Intentional fouls can occur at ANY point in the game and CAN happen when there is a 
play on the ball. 
 
Intentional fouls require at least TWO of: 
 

• Windup 

• Contact 

• Follow through 
 
Take a look at the potential intentional foul here. 
 
Do we have an intentional foul here? ABOLUTELY! 
 
White 2 winds up, contacts AND follows through after the contact. Does he make a play on the ball? I 
guess he is trying to block the shot, but this is an intentional foul for sure. If ANY of the crew sees the 
foul and cringes or says ‘WHOA’ when it happens, it is intentional and any information should be offered 
to the calling official. 
 
In this play, L and C both have the foul (should be C’s PCA) and T is coming in because he sees something 
potentially bad happening also. C is closing in on the play as well. All of the movement towards the play 
indicates something that needs upgraded since an intentional was not ruled immediately. 
 
So, let’s talk about how to resume play. 

• There are two free throws since we have an intentional foul on a missed shot (Case play 4-19-3 
Situation A) 

• The player fouled will shoot the two free throws, but he is injured as he hit his head on the floor 
and left the game 

o HIS SUBSTITUTE must shoot both free throws 

• The free throws are shot with nobody on the lane lines 
o The other 9 players must be on the court and T must be monitoring them 

• After the second free throw, for the intentional foul, the ball will be inbounded at the nearest of 
the 4 new throw-in spots to the team who shot the free throws. 

 
Remember that an intentional foul will ALWAYS get at least 2 free throws. 

• All situations below have free throws with no players on the lane lines 
o In an intentional foul without a shot attempt involved, the fouled player gets 2 free 

throws. 
o In an intentional foul on a MADE 2 OR 3 point field goal, we count the goal PLUS the 

fouled shooter gets 2 free throws 
o In an intentional foul on a MISSED 2 point try, the fouled shooter gets 2 free throws 
o In an intentional foul on a MISSED 3 point try, the fouled shooter gets 3 free throws 

• The ball is inbounded at the nearest of the 4 new throw-in spots to the team who shot the free 
throws. 

 
Tuesday Extra: Take care of coaches who make comment after comment like ‘travel’, ‘double dribble’, 
‘foul’ by telling the head coach ‘We don’t need help officiating, please stop the comments’. If the coach 
argues, simply put a warning in the book. WARNINGS are for minor issues. A coach showing you or a 
partner up or ‘going over the line’ is a technical foul, NOT a warning! Take care of business! 
 
Tuesday BONUS: Have you found ‘JUST ONE’ new official yet?? How about that being a resolution for the 
new year? 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1A1Mx6Gx83-A9GVQgXpNm91m08EI7g1Q0/view?usp=sharing

