

Celebrating 25 years of service
to the agricultural irrigation industry
in Texas and neighboring states
1991-2016

Corporate Sponsors

Aluminum Metal Products Inc.

Jain Irrigation Inc.

Past Presidents

1991

Nick Smith (deceased)

Valley Ag Electric

1992

Roger Schulze

ATS Irrigation



1993

Mike Stephens

Equipment Supply



1994

Steven Driewer

Great Plains Meter



1995

Leon New



Texas A&M University

Past Presidents

1996

John Walker

Waterman Industries



1997

Clois Cobb (deceased)

Cobb Sales Company

1998

Jim Peek

Fresno Valves & Castings



1999

Steve Chapman

Farm Credit Leasing

2000

Dolores Brooke

PVC Fittings, Inc.

Past Presidents

2001

Mike Buxkemper

Watermaster irrigation Supply



2002

Edwin Smith

Senninger Irrigation, Inc.



2003

Edie Bartos Canale

Aluminum Metal Products, Inc.



2004

W.D. "Cinco" Sutherland

Ag Equipment, Inc.

2005

Brian Frerich

Eco-Drip Irrigation



Past Presidents

2006

Wayne Winget

Winget Pump, Inc.

2007

Farris Hightower



Lindsay Manufacturing

2008

Matt Laursen

SWISH



2009

Tracy Cobb (deceased)

Cobb Sales Company

2010

Eric McElroy





Past Presidents

2011

Danny Sosebee

Netafim USA



2012, 2013

Layne Hardesty

Equipment Supply



2014

Andy Brumley

Waggoner & Son Electric, Inc.



2015

Mark Stutler

SWISH



2016

Albert Reyna

Kroy Industries, Inc.



Recognizing Our Education Advisor

Dana Porter, Texas Agrilife, has been an active member of TAIA for many years. She helped arrange and schedule irrigation courses for certification through the Irrigation Association. She has been instrumental in organizing and participating in Irrigation Conferences, Workshops and Tradeshows at various locations in Texas. Thank you, Dana, for your leadership and hard work!



A Tribute to our Executive Secretaries

Many officers and board members of TAIA have observed how much they depended on the Executive Secretary to keep things organized and running smoothly, so here's to all of them, past and present.

Kimberly Lutrick	Melissa Pierce
2000 –2005	2005— 2008



Dana Faulkenberry Kern Stutler
2008—2011 2011—Present



Dick Laursen Memorial Scholarship

The Dick Laursen Memorial Scholarship was created in honor of Dick Laursen, a life-long irrigation specialist. Dick was born in 1942 into a Nebraska ranching/farming family. He began his career as a purchasing agent for a pivot manufacturer; then moving on to Rainbird Ag before partnering to open SWISH Inc., an irrigation compa-



ny. With his partners, Dick spent the rest of his life building SWISH, until his death in 1998. He was one of the founding members of TAIA. The scholarship was established in 2002 to assist a student pursuing ag related majors in each of the years since. We recognize Dick and SWISH on this occasion along with the current scholarship recipients.

Emily Wade Kaylee Ites

Texas Tech University Texas A&M University



Luke Stutler
Texas Tech University



Remembering

Regarding the formation of the TAIA, I recall going to Lubbock many times to meet with the others involved. It was quite a process starting a new organization from scratch, determining bylaws etc. I was fortunate to meet and get to know many people in the irrigation industry I might not have met otherwise. I remember Marion Miller, an industry leader I believe who was from Colorado, who gave us great help in getting the organization going, based on his work in similar organizations in other states. He was up in age but had a youthful passion for helping us get started. As a side note, at one of the meetings I remember Steven Driewer talking about how he used his home computer and somehow using his phone line connected to something called an "Electronic Bulletin Board" I had never heard about that before and learned from him how to do it. Got back home, got the equipment needed and went "on line" for the first time on the fledgling internet.

Roger Schulze, ATS Irrigation, 1992 President

I had many memorable experiences during my tenure as a member of the TAIA, but my most memorable is when Nich Kenny and I were about to go and talk to Kern for an interview as executive secretary for the TAIA and I had his resume on my desk. A co-worker, Javier, saw it, read it and asked about it, he was very impressed. When I replied we were going to meet for an interview, he said "is he going to interview you or are you going to interview him?" So having Kern come on board in June 2011 was probably my most memorable experience during my tenure as a board member. He has been a great asset for the organization and I hope everybody appreciates him as much as I. There are many other memorable and fun experiences working with and meeting great people is another. I feel truly honored to be a part of this great organization and was chosen to serve the TAIA as a board member.

Layne Hardesty, Equipment Supply Co. 2012, 2013 President

Remembering

What an interesting year to be in the Agricultural Irrigation Business! I am sure that this year will be one that we will look back and talk about. Everybody keeps hoping that the new farm bill will bring some funds into the agricultural sector for irrigation projects.

We were able to gather at the annual Irrigation Association conference in San Antonio for our annual meeting. The Marriott Rivercenter facilities were a great setting for sharing fellowship, food and our irrigation and other experiences from the past years. We were able to elect new officers and directors for the upcoming year. Congratulations to the new officers and directors as they assume their new positions.

Guy Fipps presented information and a vision of a proposed Irrigation Technology Center to be built in San Antonio. This proposed facility will be a world class, state-of-the-art project for education, testing and applied research. I am sure that T.A.I.A. will want to be involved with the growth of this facility.

It was an honor for me to present the Irrigation Industry Award to Clois and Pat Cobb for their contributions to the Texas Irrigation Industry.

We also want to thank Kimberly Lutrick for all of her efforts as our executive assistant, editor, meeting planner and girl friday. Her dedication is a benefit to our organization.

I was elected to the Board of Directors in 1977, serving two years as a director, one year as secretary/treasurer, one year as vice-president and this last year as president. I appreciate your trust and patience over the years. I am also thankful for the opportunity of being associated with the great people of the irrigation industry.

Outgoing President's Message
Mike Buxkemper, Watermaster
Irrigation, 2001 President



Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association Corporate Charter Members

Agricultural Products, Inc.

American Valley, Inc.

Armin Poly Pipe

ATS Irrigation, Inc.

Bowsmith, Inc.

Claude Laval Corporation

Diamond Plastics Corp.

Equipment Supply Company, Inc.

Franse Irrigation

Fresno Valves & Casting, Inc.

Great Plains Meter, Inc.

Hi-Tech Irrigation, Inc.

I-E "Top-O-The-Line" Pumps

Lindsay Manufacturing Co.

Lockwood Corporation

Marion Miller & Associates

Master Manufacturing Co. (continued)

Corporate Charter Members (continued)

Mesa Irrigation Co.

Nelson Irrigation Corp.

Rain Bird Sales, Inc.

Senninger Irrigation, Inc.

SWISH, Inc.

The Lake Company

Valley Ag-Electric, Inc.

Valmont Irrigation, Inc.

Waterman Industries

Weather-Tec Corp.

Western Ag Sales Co. Inc.

A special thanks and tribute to these corporations for their foresight and dedicated efforts to form the Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association on this occasion of its Silver Anniversary. Special recognition goes to the companies and individuals who are still active members today. Irrigated agricultural has benefitted from your continuous efforts to improve irrigation technology.

1991



2016