DRAFT MINUTES OF THE MCCPTA BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING

Thursday, August 3, 2006 at the Carver Educational Services Center

(The following motions were passed at the August meeting. The complete minutes will be reviewed by the Board of Directors at the September meeting.)

Approval of Minutes:

The June 1, 2006 Board of Directors meeting minutes were distributed. Corrections included adding Victor Salazar as an attending officer and changing Suzanne Weiss to be listed as a committee chair.

John Hall made a motion to approve the minutes as amended. It was seconded. The minutes stand approved as amended by a voice vote.

Treasurer's Report:

The treasurer's report was filed.

Officer Reports:

Vice President – Administration:

Cluster Coordinators - Names forwarded by clusters are:

Einstein Cluster – Alies Muskin and Caitlin Cronin

Victor Salazar made a motion to approve Alies Muskin and Caitlin Cronin as Einstein Cluster Coordinators. The motion was seconded and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Springbrook - Ann Regan

John Hall made a motion to approve Ann Regan as Springbrook Cluster Coordinator. It was seconded and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Sherwood – Susan Stavenhagen

Sharon St.Pierre made a motion to approve Susan Stavenhagen as Sherwood Cluster Coordinator. It was seconded and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Seneca Valley - Brenda Martin

Ted Willard made a motion to approve Brenda Martin as Seneca Valley Cluster Coordinator. It was seconded and passed by unanimous voice vote.

Clarksburg - Donna Pfeiffer, Jaime Jacobson and Sonia Lehman

Juan Johnson made a motion to establish the Clarksburg cluster for MCCPTA. (The cluster was established by MCPS and is functioning as of July 1.) It was seconded and passed unanimously by a voice vote.

John Hall made a motion to approve Donna Pfeiffer, Jaime Jacobson and Sonia Lehman as Clarksburg Cluster Coordinators. It was seconded and passed unanimously by a voice vote.

For the record it was noted that Allyson Morrison is the Area Vice President for the Clarksburg cluster.

President:

Victor Salazar made a motion that Jane de Winter write a letter to Dr. Weast requesting that the MCCPTA President be permitted to attend the MCBRE meetings. The motion was seconded and passed by a voice vote.

Agenda Items:

Approval of Work Plans:

Vicki Rafel made a motion that we approve all of the work plans together after all have been reviewed. The motion was seconded.

Operating Budget Committee:

Juan Johnson made motion to make an amendment to the Operating Budget work plan to include \$100 for an Operating Budget workshop. It was seconded.

Web Site:

Ted Willard made a motion to authorize up to \$600 to be used for domain names and webhosting service. It was seconded and passed by a voice vote.

Membership:

Ted Willard made a motion to amend the Membership work plan funding to \$1,000. It was seconded and passed unanimously by a voice vote.

(Based on the original motion made at the start of the work plan discussion – see above.) A unanimous voice vote passed all of the work plans as presented and amended.

Committee Reports:

Patti Twigg, List Serv committee chair, made a motion to put the disclaimers from the National PTA web site and other publications on the MCCPTA list servs and web site in addition to our own. It passed unanimously by a voice vote.

Ted Willard made a motion that the MCCPTA bulletin be restricted to what's aligned with the mission of PTA. It was seconded and passed by a show of hands.

Unfinished Business:

Middle School Cell Phones:

Victor Salazar made a motion that Jane de Winter be allowed to write a letter asking for the names of the middle schools piloting the no waiver regulation and that we would like to see a change in the definition of the instructional day in the regulation. It was seconded and passed by a voice vote.