Resort Village of Big Shell December 20, 2024

Minutes of the December 20, 2024 meeting of the Council of the Resort Village of Big Shell held at Big Shell, SK.

Mayor Jim Wilkie called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. with the following Aldermen in attendance: Todd Bertoia, Jeff Krishke, Jeff Shepherd, and Tara Bueckert, Administrator.

ABSENT: Dallas Derksen

MINUTES:

78-24 Shepherd: That the minutes of the November 29, 2024 be accepted as presented.

CARRIED

Business arising from the minutes Financial Statements

79-24 Bertoia : That the November 2024 Financial Statement be approved as presented.

CARRIED

80-24 Bertoia: That Council approve the list of accounts presented cheque number 3275-3280 and the online payment in the amount of \$11,085.89.

CARRIED

Delegations

Correspondence:

Old Business:

- Arrears update paid
- Security Measures received a quote from Shadows

New Business:

• Special Levy Bylaw

81-24 Bertoia: That we hold a public meeting on February 21st at 7:00 p.m. located at 229 Loon Drive. CARRIED

• Set meeting dates

82-24 Krishke: That the council meeting dates be set for: February 21, 2025; March 21, 2025; April 25, 2025; May 16, 2025; June 20, 2025; July 18, 2025; August 15, 2025; September 19, 2025; October 17, 2025; November 21, 2025; Dec. 19, 2025.

CARRIED

• Revenue Sharing

83-24 Shepherd : That the Council of the Resort Village of Big Shell confirms the Municipality now meets the following eligibility requirements to receive the Municipal Revenue Sharing Grant:

- Submission of the 2023 Audited Financial Statement to the Ministry of Government Relations

- In Good Standing with respect to the reporting and remittance of Education Property Taxes;

- Adoption of a Council Procedures Bylaw;
- Adoption of an Employee Code of Conduct; and

- All members of council have filed and annually updated their public Disclosure Statements, as required; and

That we authorize the Administrator to sign the Declaration of Eligibility and submit it to the Ministry of Government Relations.

Resort Village of Big Shell

CARRIED

• Appoint Western Municipal Board

84-24 Shepherd: That pursuant to Subsection 220(1) of *The Municipalities Act*, the Resort Village of Big Shell appoints Western Municipal Consulting LTD. to manage the Board of Revision process for the term of January 1, 2025, through to December 31, 2025, remuneration as set out in Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. fee schedule, with the following to serve as Members of the Board of Revision: Dave Gurnsey, Dave Thompson, Donna Rae Zadvorny, Gordon Parkinson, Jeff Hutton, Kevin Kleckner, Mike Waschuk, Stew Demmans, Tim Lafreniere, Wayne Adams, Ken Friesen, Femi Ogunrinde, Fife Ogunde, Maureen Jickling, Jamie Tiessen, John Krill, Christopher Blueman, Alan Sawatsky, Mike Meleca, Hany Amin, Kimberly Speers, Nick Coroluick, Farah Ovans, JayDee Mazier, Jordan Boyes, Kenneth Tan, Tyler Shandro and Rick Leigh. The Chair shall be responsible for naming no fewer than three (3) members for the hearing of any matter. Where the Chair does not include themselves among the appointees, the members appointed for a hearing shall determine the chair of that hearing from among their numbers.

That pursuant to Subsection 221(1) of *The Municipalities Act*, the Resort Village of Big Shell appoints Kara Lindal with Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. as Secretary to the Board of Revision for the term of January 1, 2025, through to December 31, 2025, remuneration as set out in Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. fee schedule. If the secretary is unable to perform secretarial functions for reasons which may include scheduling difficulties WMC may appoint a delegate to perform administrative functions and may appoint a recording secretary for the purposes of any hearing.

CARRIED

85-24 Shepherd: That pursuant to Subsection 214(1) of *The Planning and Development Act, 2007*, the Resort Village of Big Shell appoints Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. to manage the Development Appeals Board process for the term of January 1, 2025, through to December 31, 2025, remuneration as set out in Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. fee schedule, with the following to serve as Members of the Development Appeals Board: Dave Gurnsey, Dave Thompson, Donna Rae Zadvorny, Gordon Parkinson, Jeff Hutton, Kevin Kleckner, Mike Waschuk, Stew Demmans, Tim Lafreniere, Wayne Adams, Ken Friesen, Femi Ogunrinde, Fife Ogunde, Maureen Jickling, Jamie Tiessen, Stu Haywad, Pam Malach, Barry Clark, John Krill, Christopher Blueman, Alan Sawatsky, Mike Meleca, Hany Amin, Kimberly Speers, Nick Coroluick, Farah Ovans, JayDee Mazier, Jordan Boyes, Kenneth Tan, Tyler Shandro and Rick Leigh.

The Chair shall be responsible for naming no fewer than three (3) members for the hearing of any matter. Where the Chair does not include themselves among the appointees, the members appointed for a hearing shall determine the chair of that hearing from among their numbers.

That pursuant to Subsection 216(3)(a) of *The Planning and Development Act, 2007* the Resort Village of Big Shell appoints Claudette McGuire with Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. as Secretary to the Development Appeals Board for the term of January 1, 2025, through to December 31, 2025, remuneration as set out in Western Municipal Consulting Ltd. fee schedule. If the secretary is unable to perform secretarial functions for reasons which may include scheduling difficulties WMC may appoint a delegate to perform administrative functions and may appoint a recording secretary for the purposes of any hearing.

CARRIED

Next meeting will be held on February 21, 2025 @ 6:30 pm Meeting adjourned at 7:14 p.m.

Mayor

Administrator