
Good morning! 
 
Philosophy Friday…take a look at the plays in this clip HERE. 
 
The common thread in these is that contact causes the violation in each play – the block 
causes the back court violation in the first and causes the travel in the second. 
 
When we have illegal contact that causes a violation, we need to recognize it and call the 
foul. We cannot ‘pass’ on the contact and resort to the violation. When this happens, we 
penalize the ball handler twice…first not calling the foul, then calling a violation. Even if we 
blow the whistle, process what happened, then make a call, we are better off! This gets it 
right! 
 
Friday extra: I wonder sometimes if I am repeating something I said already (and see Marty 
saying the same things in his Weekly Reminders). This topic is the official scorekeeper 
wearing a striped shirt at all levels. I hear the stories and get sent pictures of tables during 
games with the official scorer not wearing a striped shirt. THIS is easy…they MUST wear the 
striped shirt. If they refuse, find the game manager and ask for help. If we do not get help 
there, make the visiting scorer the official scorer, then immediately after the game, contact 
your chapter rules interpreter to address it with the athletic director. 
 
Have a great game tonight and relaxing weekend! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1a7edfrPMWcfVqojyuQe_h9e2XG6ENZZl/view?usp=sharing

