2022 National Cleanup Workshop Agenda

Marriott Crystal Gateway 1700 Richmond Hwy, Arlington, VA

"Clearing the Decks to Enable the Next Decade of Cleanup Success"

Hosted by the Energy Communities Alliance in cooperation with the U.S. Department of Energy and the Energy Facility Contractors Group

WEDNESDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 2022	
4:00pm – 6:00pm	Registration Opens
4:00pm – 7:00pm	Exhibits Open
5:00pm – 7:00pm	Welcome Reception

THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 22, 2022	
7:00am – 8:00am	Registration and Continental Breakfast
	Opening Remarks
	Introduction: Seth Kirshenberg, Executive Director, Energy Communities Alliance
8:00am – 8-15am	Brent Gerry, Mayor, City of West Richland, WA; Chair, Energy Communities Alliance (ECA)
	Michael Lempke , Chair, Energy Facility Contractors Group (EFCOG); President, Nuclear and Environmental group, HII's Mission Technologies division
8:15am – 8:45am	Keynote Address: DOE Priorities
	Hon. Jennifer Granholm, U.S. Secretary of Energy (Invited)
8:45am – 9:15am	A New Era for EM Cleanup
	Ike White, Senior Advisor for Environmental Management, DOE
9:15am – 9:45am	Perspective from Capitol Hill
	Rep. Susie Lee (D-Nev.)
9:45am – 10:00 am	COFFEE BREAK







10:00 am – 10:30am	Perspectives on Hanford and DOE Priorities Rep. Dan Newhouse (R-Wash.)
10:30 am – 12:00pm	 The Next Phase of EM Progress Moderator: Candice Robertson, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, DOE-EM Completing D&D of Building 326 at Portsmouth Joel Bradburne, Manager, Portsmouth Paducah Project Office, DOE Greg Wilkett, Site Project Director, FBP A New Radioactive Waste Disposal Facility in Oak Ridge Laura Wilkerson, Acting Manager, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management
	Ken Rueter, President and CEO, United Cleanup Oak Ridge (UCOR) End-State Contracting Model Implementation at Idaho Connie Flohr, Manager, EM-Idaho Ty Blackford, President, Idaho Environmental Coalition, LLC
12:00pm – 1:00pm	LUNCH
1:00pm – 2:00pm	 Resetting Regulatory Relationships and Approaches to Enable the EM Mission Moderator: Shelly Wilson, Longenecker & Associates Jay Mullis, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regulatory and Policy Affairs, DOE-EM Kim Lebak, President, N3B Los Alamos Laura Wilkerson, Acting Manager, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management Wyatt Clark, Chief Operating Officer, Savannah River Mission Completion Connie Herman, Associate Lab Director, Savannah River National Laboratory and executive sponsor, SRNL Regulatory Center of Excellence Amy Fitzgerald, Government Affairs and Information Services Director, City of Oak Ridge, TN
2:00pm – 2:30pm	Upcoming EM Acquisition Plans and Schedule Angela Watmore, Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary for Acquisition and Project Management, DOE-EM
2:30pm – 3:00pm	COFFEE BREAK
3:00pm – 4:00 pm	 Developing the Future EM Workforce Moderator: David Izraelevitz, Councilor, Los Alamos County, N.M.; Treasurer, ECA Kristen Ellis, Acting Director for Regulatory Intergovernmental and Stakeholder Engagement, DOE-EM Nicole Nelson-Jean, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Field Operations, DOE-EM JJ Chavez, Council Member, City of Carlsbad, N.M.; ECA Executive Board
Energy	U.S. DEPARTMENT OF OFFICE OF







4:00pm – 5:00pm	Roundtable: Lessons Learned and Improving Project Performance
	Moderator: Martin Schneider, Energy Facility Contractors Group (EFCOG)
	Candice Robertson, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, DOE-EM Tom Jouvanis, President, Atkins Nuclear Secured
	Michael Lempke, President, Huntington Ingalls Industries' Technical Solutions Division Greg Meyer, Senior Vice President, Fluor
	Billy Morrison, President and CEO, Veolia Nuclear Solutions-Federal Services
	Dena Volovar, Executive Vice President, Nuclear, Security & Environmental (NS&E), Bechtel
	Mark Whitney, President-National Security, Amentum

John Eschenberg, President, CPCC

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 23, 2022		
7:00am – 8:00am	Registration and Continental Breakfast	
8:00am – 8-30am	Legislative Challenges and Opportunities for the EM Program Introduction: Chuck Hope, Council Member, City of Oak Ridge, Tenn. Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.), Chairman, House Nuclear Cleanup Caucus (invited)	
8:30 am – 9:30 am	 DOE Leadership Perspectives Moderator: Colin Jones, Deputy General Manager, North American Nuclear, Jacobs Candice Robertson, Acting Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary, DOE-EM Nicole Nelson-Jean, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Field Operations, DOE-EM Dae Chung, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Corporate Services, DOE-EM Jay Mullis, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regulatory and Policy Affairs, DOE-EM 	
9:30am – 10:00am	COFFEE BREAK	
10:00am – 11:00 am	 Roundtable: DOE Field Office Managers Moderator: Rebecca Casper, Mayor, City of Idaho Falls Laura Wilkerson, acting Manager, Oak Ridge Office of Environmental Management, DOE-EM Joel Bradburne, Manager, Portsmouth Paducah Project Office Connie Flohr, Manager, EM Idaho Operations Office, DOE Michael Mikolanis, Manager, EM Los Alamos Reinhard Knerr, Carlsbad Operations Office, DOE Michael Budney, Manager, Savannah River Site Operations Office, DOE-EM Brian Vance, Manager, Office of River Protection/ Richland Operations Office, DOE-EM 	







	Jack Zimmerman, Director, Environmental Management Consolidated Business Center, DOE-EM
	Maximizing Reuse Opportunities at EM Sites
11:00am-12:00 pm	Moderator: Rick McLeod , President and CEO, Savannah River Site Community Reuse Organization
	Randall Ryti , Chair, Los Alamos County Council Diahann Howard , Executive Director, Port of Benton
	Steve L. Shepherd , Executive Director, Southern Ohio Diversification Initiative (invited) Ken Rueter , President and CEO, UCOR
12:00pm – 1:00pm	LUNCH
	Making Glass: Entering a New Era for Hanford Tank Waste
1:00pm – 2:00pm	 Brian Vance, Manager, Office of River Protection/Richland Operations Office Steven Ashby, Director, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory Wes Bryan, President, Washington River Protection Solutions Val McCain, Project Manager, Bechtel-WTP Bob Wilkinson, President, Hanford Mission Integration Solutions David Reeploeg, Executive Director, Hanford Communities
	Improving Assurance Approaches to Address Emerging Challenges
	Moderator: Jack Craig, COO, Atkins Nuclear Secured
2:00pm – 3:00pm	 Dae Chung, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Corporate Services, DOE-EM David Blevins, Vice President and General Manager, North American Nuclear, Jacobs Stuart MacVean, President, Savannah River Nuclear Solutions Jim Blankenhorn, Senior Vice President-Environment and Security, Amentum Sandra Fairchild, Director of Mission Assurance and Controls, UCOR Heatherly Dukes, President, BWXT Technical Services Group Nathan Anderson, Director-Natural Resources and Environment, GAO
3:00pm-4:00 pm	Perspectives on Legislative Priorities and Actions
	Moderator: Seth Kirshenberg , Executive Director, Energy Communities Alliance Speakers TBD
4:00pm	ADJOURN





