Good morning!
Take a look at this play with a good hoop and the shooter was intentionally fouled here.

So how do we resume play under our NFHS rules? We count the hoop, two free throws to blue 2 with no
players on the lane lines and blue gets the ball on for a throw-in nearest the spot of the foul — on the
baseline in this case. The defender obviously grabbed the shooter with two hands, so good intentional
foul call!

ALL intentional fouls resume play after the free throws at the spot nearest to where the foul occurred.

NEARLY all intentional fouls are two free throws. Intentional fouls with no shot involved are always two
free throws to the player intentionally fouled. On shots where the shooter is intentionally fouled, we will
always count the goal if it goes in (2-pt or 3-pt). IF it goes in on a 2 OR 3-point attempt, the shooter gets
2 additional free throws after the made goal. If the shot is MISSED, a 2-point shooter gets 2 free throws
and a 3-point shooter gets 3 free throws. Remember that the ball is retained by the team who got
fouled, so there always is that additional penalty, hence the reason there are no players on the lane
lines since no rebound can take place.

Take a look at the intentional foul case plays starting on page 28 (4.19.3) which begins with the case play
for the explanation above!

Monday extra: at the end of your pre-game conference, tell your partners the one thing you are working
on in your game tonight. It makes it easier to work on when you verbalize it!

Have a great game tonight!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/14rUoW-3-dTofL1Xw87Dr1S0RwL4vbU_b/view?usp=sharing

