2021 ASCE HAWAII SECTION OUTSTANDING CIVIL ENGINEERING ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS CEREMONY

September 30, 2021 Presented Virtually



ASCE Hawaii Section P.O. Box 917 Honolulu, Hawaii, 96808 www.ascehawaii.org

2021 OCEA Award Winners

BEST LARGE PROJECT

Lahaina Waste Water Reclamation Facility Stage 1A Improvements

Lahaina, Maui, Hawai`i Owner: County of Maui, Department of Environmental Management Designer: Jacobs Engineering Group Contractor: Kiewit Infrastructure Group

BEST WATER/WASTEWATER/ENVIRONMENTAL PROJECT

Waianae WWTP Digester Rehab & Biosolids Management Project

Waianae, O`ahu, Hawai`i Owner: City and County of Honolulu Designer: Kennedy/Jenks Consultants, Inc. Contractor: Oceanic Construction & Hensel Phelps

BEST INTERNATIONAL PROJECT

The Tsubaki Tower

Tamuning, Guam Owner: PHR Ken Micronesia Inc. Designer: BASE Contractor: PHR Ken Micronesia Inc. and Asanuma Corp.

2021 OCEA Award Winners (continued)

BEST HUMANITARIAN PROJECT

Koae Workforce Housing Development Poipu, Kaua`i, Hawai`i Owner: Mark Development, Inc. Designer: Bow Engineering & Development, Inc. Contractor: Goodfellow Brothers, Inc.

BEST STUDIES AND RESEARCH PROJECT

Hawai`i Cesspool Conversion Technologies and Finance Research

Honolulu, O`ahu, Hawai`i Owner: State of Hawai`i, Department of Health, Wastewater Branch Designer: Carollo Engineers, Inc.

BEST BUILDING AND STRUCTURAL SYSTEMS PROJECT

Opaekaa Bridge Repair/Rehabilitation Wailua, Kaua`i, Hawai`i Owner: County of Kaua`i, Department of Public Works Designer: KAI Hawai`i, Inc. Contractor: Hawaiian Dredging Construction Company

2021-2022 Executive Committee

Clifford Lum, P.E., M. ASCE President

Reyn Hashiro, P.E., M. ASCE President-Elect

Eric Tomishima, P.E., M. ASCE Vice President

Sheila Uyeoka, P.E., M. ASCE Treasurer

Steven Doo, P.E., M. ASCE Secretary

Dayna Nemoto-Shima, P.E., M. ASCE Immediate Past-President

Claire Fukuoka, P.E., M. ASCE YMF President

ASCE Region 8: Director – Tony Lau Governor – Daniel Karlin

Much Mahalo to the 2021 OCEA Judges: Kapiolani Street, Lara Karamatsu, Kealohi Sandefur, and George Takase

2021 Awards Committee Co-Chairs: Susan Mukai and Norman Leong

