# SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

#### Friday, March 24, 2023

3:30 - 6:30	Registration: Township Hallway	Dr. Joseph Warren, Chapter
6:30 - 9:00	Welcome Reception: Township A and Cash Bar in the Lobby Theme: Uniforms and Colonial Dresses You will be greeted by President and Mrs. Thompson Everyone is encouraged to wear uniform or Colonial Dress for this occasion.	
7:30 - 8:00	Living History: "Colonial Uniforms - Meet the Generals" Dr. Bryant Boswell will talk about various uniforms of the Continental Army.	
8:00 - 9:00	Reception Continues	

### Saturday, March 25, 2023

6:30 a.m.	Restaurant Opens for Breakfast	
8:00 a.m.	Registration in the Township Hallway	Dr. Joseph Warren, Chapter
8:00 - 9:00	Meet and Greet - Coffee available	
9:00 - 9:15	Memorial Service	Chaplain Reverend Glenn Shows

# **MSSSAR MEMORIAL SERVICE**

Welcome			Reverend Glenn Shows	
Prayer		Lynn Herron,	DeSoto Patriots Chapter	
Special Music	It is Well With My	Soul	Rev. Shows, Soloist	
Reading of the Scripture				
Roll Call of Deceased Patriots				

Deceased Members 2022					
Date	Name	Chapter			
1/1/2022	Joseph Harry Kennedy	Capt. Wm Hillhouse			
2/ 1/2022	Guy Leslie Judkins	William Gray			
2/19/2022	William Bart Bell	Dr. Joseph Warren			
3/ 1/2022	Oscar Wayne Renfro	DeSoto Patriots			
3/11/2022	Albert Ellis Allen	Central Mississippi			
6/ 1/2022	James Williard Cox	Jacob Horger			
6/11/2022	Michael Ray Couch	Dr. Joseph Warren			
6/15/2022	William Repsie Foutch Jr.	DeSoto Patriots			
7/26/2022	Gerald Wayne Adams	Jacob Horger			
10/21/2022	Thomas Frederick Wicker	William Gray			
11/22/2022	Andrew Melvin Jones	Nathaniel Greene			
12/06/2022	Michael Allen Nolley Sr.	South Central			
12/24/2022	George Simenton	Central Mississippi			
12/25/2022	Karl Michael Tischer	Jacob Horger			

## **BUSINESS**

9:15 - 10:30

#### MSSSAR March Board of Directors Meeting

President Thompson Call to Order Role Call/ Quorum Declaration Keith Goodfellow Rev. Glenn Shows Invocation Pledge Allegiance to the American Flag 1st VP John McBride Pledae to the SAR Sergeant at Arms Erik Norman Welcome and Recognition of Guests President Thompson Reading of the Minutes Frank Milling, Recording Secretary **REPORTS: OFFICERS** President - Rev. Tommy Thompson First Vice President - John McBride Second Vice President - Dr. Keith Goodfellow Corresponding Secretary - Jerry Lilly Recording Secretary - Frank Milling Treasurer - John Taylor Chancellor - Jay Cooke National Trustee - Bob Cox Past Presidents Chaplain - Rev. Glenn Shows State Genealogist - Larry Hellums Color Guard Commander - Dr. Bryant Boswell **REPORTS: CHAPTERS** Central Mississippi - John McBride Daniel McKie - Don Locke David Murphree - Clarence Milstead DeSoto Patriots - Mike Duddas Isaac Carter - Inactive Jacob Horger - Darvl Gambrell James Lynam - Keith Goodfellow John Wheat - Inactive Natchez - Inactive - Finley Hootsell Nathanael Greene - Inactive William Gray - Jax Smith William Hillhouse - Carlton Polk Patrick Boggan -South Central Mississippi Thaddaeus Kosciusko **REPORTS: COMMITTEES** LaFavette Tour (2025) 250th Anniversary (2026) Other Committee Reports

9:00	Ladies gather in the lobby	y for trip to the Museums.

### 10:45 - 11:45 ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING - Township A & B Call to Order Quorum Declaration Recognition of Visitors Introductions of Chapters and Chapter Presidents/ Officers President's Report Treasurer-Registrar's Report Old Business New Business - State Committees Hearing from VP General Bradley Hayes, Southern District Nominations for State Officers and Trustee for 2023-2024 Election of Officers Motions and Resolutions Adjourn for Lunch

12:30 - 2:30 Awards Luncheon and Presentations - Township A & B Welcome and Recognition of Guests Invocation and Blessing MSSSAR Chaplain Glenn Shows

# **BUFFET LUNCH**

# **AWARDS**

Youth Recognitions and Awards Michael Schenk, Coordinator

Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Award Winner: Fletcher Horne Presented by Michael Schenk

Elementary School Poster Contest Winner: Annalise Williams Presented by John McBride

George S. & Stella M. Knight Essay Contest Winner: Claire Delis Necaise Presented by Edward Campbell

### Award Presentations: Medals and Awards Committee

Presented by Medals and Awards Chair, Bryant Boswell , President Tommy Thompson, and 1st Vice President, John McBride

Honoring the MSSSAR Veterans in the State of Mississippi

# **AFTERNOON SESSION**

3:00 "All about the MSSSAR Website" Duties of State Officers and committees Duties of the Chapter Officers
Youth Recognition Awards Color Guard Information Questions and Answers
5:30 MSSSAR Color Guard gathers for pictures in the Avenue Ballroom
6:30 - 8:30 MSSSAR President's Banquet in Township A & B

## BANQUET

Opening Remarks and Welcome MSSSAR President Tommy Thompson Presentation of the Colors MSSSAR Color Guard Pledge to the Flag of the United States of America SAR Pledge Invocation and Blessing Chaplain Glenn Shows

#### Dinner

Introductions and Recognition of Special Guests Greetings: Southern District; Alabama; Tennessee; Louisiana Introduction of the Program for the Evening President Thompson

### MUSIC OF THE REVOLUTION

Dr. Paul Criss, Assistant Professor of History, Medical, & Health Humanities, Philosophy and Religion at Baptist Health Science University where he also directs the University's Honors Program. Dr. Criss, former Dean of the Visible Music College in Memphis, will present "The Music of the Revolution" an interactive program of history and musical themes that will take us through various venues of music during the Revolutionary War period.

Installation of Officers Remarks by the President SAR Recessional Benediction Retirement of the Colors Vice President General Bradley Hayes

SAR Members Reverend Glenn Shows, Chaplain MSSSAR Color Guard

### RAFFLE

Conducted by First Vice President John McBride