Good morning!!!!
Take a look at the clip here of a back court throw-in play.

Here is Rule 9-9 Backcourt — specific to this play is article 3.

SECTION 9 BACKCOURT

ART. 1. .. A player shalf not be the first to touch the ball after it has been
in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was
touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

EXCEPTION: A ball in team control of Team A in the frontcourt that is deflected by a de-

fensive player, which causes the ball to ga into the backcaurt, may be recovered by either

team unless the offense was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt. If
the oftense was last to touch the bali in its frontcourt, only the defense can legally recover
the basketball.

ART. 2. .. While in player and team control in its backcourt, a player §H&lf not
cause the hall to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without
the ball touchlng a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or 2 teammate is the
first to touch it in the backcourt.

ART. 3 . . . During a jump ball, throw-in or while on defense a player may
legally jump from his/her frontcuurt secure control of the ball with both feat off
the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player
may make a normal kanding and it makes no difference whether the ﬁrst foot down
is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

PENALTY: (Section 9) The ball is dead when the violation sccurs and is award-
ed to the opponents for a throw-in from the desmnated uui-at—bounds spoi

nearest the violation.

So do we have a violation on this play? No, the player who caught the ball had a ‘normal landing’. She
landed with her first foot in the front court, then her second with part in the front and part in the
backcourt, so it is backcourt. Even though her toes ‘came down first,” we have to see the entire foot
down for the ‘normal’ landing. Since she landed and does not have front court status with the ball, she
actually could pivot on her right foot and put her left foot in the backcourt legally.

So a hypothetical.......what if Cis observing the play and KNOWS what happened and what the rule is???
Does C go to T and talk about it and ‘get it right’ or does C just ‘play on’ because it is not a correctable
error? This is a great situation to discuss in your chapter meeting with the entire chapter and your rules
interpreter. My guess is that if we presented this at a convention session, the room would be split on
what to do!

Take a look in the Case Book on pages 72/73 for more examples of frontcourt and backcourt plays! Even
if you read ONE rule and the associated case plays each day you will become a MUCH better rules

officiall

Thursday extra: GET RID of the watches, jewelry, fitbits, headbands, wallets in the back pocket, etc!!!!
Have a great game tonight!

Tim


https://drive.google.com/file/d/19eQe3BfVhrgLSOcVHOUfYI7CLE7_tRgR/view?usp=sharing

