North Carolina Spirits Association



Legislative Report January 13, 2023

The North Carolina General Assembly convened its 2023 session on Wednesday January 11, 2023. Unlike the activities in the U.S. Capitol the week before, in the state capital of Raleigh lawmakers began their work quietly and with ceremony. Opening day is mostly ceremonial, with families on the House and Senate floors. Senator Berger (R-Rockingham) was elected President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Across the hall in the House chamber, House Speaker Tim Moore (R-Cleveland) was reelected as Speaker. Leaders in the House and Senate talked about being united, agreeing to disagree and even a "kinder, gentler" General Assembly. Leadership roles in the House also included Sarah Stevens (R-Surry) as Speaker Pro Tempore.

Senator Berger will preside over a veto-proof majority in the Senate, with 30 Republicans and 20 Democrats. Speaker Moore will preside over a Republican majority of 71, one vote shy of a veto-proof majority.

The legislature has adjourned until January 25, when they will come back to take up new legislation and, later this spring, tackle the state budget. Among the priorities are education, economic development, broadband internet and more. Senator Berger has appointed committees for the session; Speaker Moore announced that he will appoint committees before the legislature returns on January 25.

Temporary rules approved in the House and permanent rules approved in Senate last Wednesday lay out a portion of the timeline for the 2023 session. Current bill deadlines based on Senate permanent rules and House temporary rules are as follows:

- January 25 Start of the session after the traditional two-week January break
- March 9 Senate deadline to submit public bills to Bill Drafting
- March 29 House deadline to submit public bills to Bill Drafting
- April 4 Senate deadline for pubic bill introduction
- April 25 House deadline for public bill introduction
- May 4 Crossover deadline for bills to have passed either the House or Senate for consideration during the remainder of session

House temporary rules adopted during Wednesday's ceremony depart from a rule that provides a certain amount of notice before votes on veto overrides would be taken on the House floor. House Democrats opposed this rule change, but held their comments in opposition until the House permanent rules are presented for a vote in early February.

Appointments to the **Senate Commerce and Insurance Committee** are as follows:

- Chairs: Sens. Todd Johnson, David W. Craven, Jr., Dean Proctor
- Members: Sens. Gale Adcock, W. Ted Alexander, Val Applewhite, Sydney Batch, Danny Earl Britt, Jr., Kevin Corbin, Michael Garrett, Brent Jackson, Steve Jarvis, Paul A. Lowe, Jr., Natasha R. Marcus, Tom McInnis, Timothy D. Moffitt, Paul Newton, Brad Overcash, Jim Perry, Gladys A. Robinson, DeAndrea Salvador, Vickie Sawyer

The legislature adjourned on Wednesday and will convene January 25, 2023.

For more information about legislation described in the legislative reports, feel free to contact me at dferrell@nexsenpruet.com or (919) 573-7421. Information is also available on the General Assembly's website: www.ncleg.gov.

Prepared By: David P. Ferrell, Esq. – NC Spirits Association Lobbyist

NEXSEN PRUET PLLC

4141 Parklake Ave, Suite 200

Raleigh, North Carolina 27612

Telephone: (919) 573-7421

dferrell@nexsenpruet.com

www.nexsenpruet.com