

Registration: 11:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.

AMERICAN LEGION AUXILIARY DEPARTMENT OF ARIZONA **2023 DEPARTMENT CONVENTION EL CONQUISTADOR RESORT** TUCSON, AZ

This schedule is subject to change. Chairmen, please sit up front prior to speaking.

Thursday, June 22, 2023

12:00 p.m.	Finance Committee Meeting	Agave I		
1:00 p.m.	Executive Committee Meeting	Agave I		
	All Department Officers, including District	Agave I		
	Presidents, and Past Department Preside	nts		
2:00 p.m.	Girls State Directors Meeting	Agave I		
3:30 p.m.	Credential Committee Meeting	Agave I		
	Rules Committee Meeting			
	Resolutions Committee Meeting			
	Courtesy Resolutions Committee Meeting	5		
6:00 p.m.	Joint Opening	Turquoise_I		
Friday, June 23, 2023				
Registration: 7:00 a.	m. to 5:00 p.m.	Presidio I / Foyer		
7:00 a.m. Sgt @ Arms, Pages, District & Department				
	Color Guard meet with Americanism Chair	rman		
	Linda Lopez & Chairman of Pages for insti	ruction.		
7:45 a.m.	Processional Lineup – All Department Off	•		
	Past Department PresidentsDon't forge	t sashes.		
•	ing Ceremony	Presidio I		
Processional		Jacqueline Solis		
Call to Order		Barbara White, Dept Pres		
Opening Prayer		Marge Christenson, Chaplain		
Pledge of Allegiance		Jacqueline Solis		
National Anthem		Alma Mattingly		
Preamble		Debra Munchbach		
POW/MIA Chair		Barbara White, Dept Pres		
		Rose Ficklin & Stacey Mayberry		
Welcome and Purpo	se	Barbara White, Dept Pres		
Response		Rose Ficklin, Dept VP		
Introductions and G	reetings			

Jennie Molina – ALA National Executive Committeeman

Isabella Ward – Honorary Junior Department President

Introduction of Convention Appointees

Barbara White, Dept Pres

Registration – ALA Unit 132

Chairman of Pages – Anita Ritter

Personal Pages - Itzcel Owen and Rebecca Rocha

Sgt-at-Arms – Anita Ritter and Sara Decker Color Bearers – Unit 29 Color Guard

Credentials Committee – Iliana Solis & Tanya Agay Resolution Committee Chairman – Debra Munchbach Rules Committee Chairman – Debra Munchbach

Courtesy Resolutions Committee – Melissa Englert

Rules of Convention Debra Munchbach

Partial Credentials Report Iliana Solis

Constitution & Bylaws 1st Reading Debra Munchbach

Nominations of Officers & National Convention Delegates SAMPLE BALLOTS

Instructions for Elections of Department Officers,

Delegates and Alternates to National Convention

Sample Ballots by Roll Call of Units with number of votes announced:

Barbara Matteson

Nominations for Department Officers 2023-2024

Nominations for Delegates and Alternates for National Convention August 2023

9:00 a.m.	Program	Chairman
	Legislative	Stephanie McMullen
	National Security	Jennie Molina
	Poppy	Julie Ross
	Creative Arts	Dawn Davidson
	Veterans Affairs & Rehabilitation	Stacey Mayberry
	Fisher House	Matt Griffis
	POW/MIA Video	Stacey Mayberry
	Service to Veterans	Sara Decker
	Prescott VAMC	Juanita Moffitt
	Phoenix VAMC	Gloria Torres
	Tucson VAMC	Kathy Szakonyi
	State Veterans Home Phoenix	Cat Ludwick
	State Veterans Home Tucson	Bonni Distler
	State Veterans Home Yuma	Winnie Moir
	Phoenix Gift Shop	Joyce Livingston
	Whipple Gift Shop	Patricia Aljets
	Tucson Gift Shop	Kathleen Roche
	Poppy Making	All Units
BREAK		
11:30 a.m. l	Lunch	
1:00 p.m.	Reconvene	Turquoise III
	Call to Order	Barbara White
	Roll Call of Units	Barbara Matteson
	Credential Report	Iliana Solis
	<u>Program</u>	Chairman
	Americanism	Jacqueline Solis
	Education	Julie Vietri
	Cavalcade of Memories	Paula Burgess

Community Service	Rebecca Faris
Auxiliary Emergency Fund	Jonnie Maddox
Children & Youth	JoAnne Mangis
Junior Activities	Iliana Solis
Girls State	Penny Maklary

Introduction of 2022-2023 District and Unit Presidents by 2022-2023 District Presidents

RECESS

Saturday, June 24, 2023

Registration: 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.	Turquoise III	
8:00 a.m. Reconvene	Turquoise III	
Call to Order	Barbara White	
Invocation	Marge Christenson	
Roll Call of Units	Barbara Matteson	
Credentials Report for Elections	Iliana Solis	
Head Teller	Debra Munchbach	
Introduction of Tellers	Debra Munchbach	
Each Candidate is given the opportunity to have a witness present during the ballot counting.		
Distribution of Ballots by Roll Call	Barbara Matteson	

Election of 2023-2024 Department Officers 2023-2024 Delegates & Alternates to National Convention

<u>Program</u>		<u>Chairman</u>
Public Relations		Shannon Mead
Membership		Rose Ficklin
Const	itution & Bylaws	Vickey Zwall
Finance		Yolanda Bonilla
Past President Parley		Patricia Lugo
Chaplain		Marge Christenson
Historian		Dolores Chavez
Scrap	book	
Music		Alma Mattingly
RECESS		
11:30 a.m.	Past President's Parley Luncheon	TBA
<u>1:00 p.m.</u>	Reconvene	Turquoise III
Call to Order		Barbara White
Roll Call of Units		Barbara Matteson
President's Special Project		Margaret Ellis
Leadership		Karen Smith
New Units		Jan Cushing
Final Credentials Report		Iliana Solis
President's Report		Barbara White
Membership Training 101		Barbara Matteson
Announcements		Barbara Matteson

3:00 p.m. Installation Practice Penny Maklary Turquoise III4:15 p.m. Choir Practice Alma Mattingly Turquoise III

6:00 p.m.-8:00 p.m. President Elect Reception

TBA

Sunday, June 25, 2023

8:00 a.m.

Joint Memorial Service Turquoise I

The American Legion Stephen Larance, Dept Chaplain
American Legion Auxiliary Marge Christenson, Dept Chaplain

American Legion Family Choir Alma Mattingly

9:15 a.m. Reconvene Turquoise III

Installation of 2023-2024 Officers

Break 15 minutes.

Call To Order Barbara White Membership Challenges for 2023-2024 Stacey Mayberry

Courtesy Resolutions Melissa Englert and Ann Willeford

Introduction of 2023-2024 Department Commander and presentation of the Beri Award

Final Comments

Announcements

Barbara White, Dept Pres
Barbara Matteson Sec/Tre

Benediction

Marge Christenson, Chaplain

Retirement of District and Unit Colors Jacqueline Solis

Retirement of 2022-2023 District Presidents

Retirement of Department Officers Retirement of Department Colors

11:00 a.m. Adjournment Barbara White, Dept Pres

HAVE A SAFE TRIP HOME!

Immediately following adjournment of this convention there will be a meeting of the Department Executive Committee. All Department Officers which include the new and seated District Presidents and Past Department Presidents are required to attend.

The meeting will be in Turquoise III

<u>Call to Order</u> <u>Newly Elected Department President</u>

2023-2024 Department Executive Committee Meeting

Rose Ficklin