

OFFICIAL UPDATE

This is a summary of the January 6, 2020 Franklin Township Board of Supervisors Organization meeting. Township Manager/Treasurer, Joan McVaugh, acting as temporary chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. In attendance were Supervisors Auerbach, Dea, Gerstenhaber, McVeigh and Morris. Also in attendance were Assistant Twp. Mgr. Jeff Eastburn and Secretary Sharon Norris. There were 2 members of the public in the audience.

The meeting commenced with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Ms. McVaugh called for nominations for Chairman. Supervisor Dea nominated Supervisor Auerbach as Chairman. The motion was seconded by Supervisor Auerbach but failed in a 2-3 vote with Supervisors Morris, Gerstenhaber, and McVeigh voting nay. On motion by Supervisor McVeigh, 2nded by Supervisor Gerstenhaber, Supervisor Morris was elected Chairman on a 3-2 vote with Supervisors Auerbach and Dea voting nay. The meeting was then turned over to the Chairman.

On Motion by Chairman Morris, 2nded by Supervisor Gerstenhaber, Mrs. McVeigh was elected Vice Chair on a 4-1 vote with Supervisor Dea voting nay.

Appointments:

Vice Chair McVeigh made a motion to appoint the following individuals and firms as officials, engineers and consultants for the Township. The motion was 2nded by the Chair and passed 5-0:

- 1. Joan McVaugh as Township Manager
- 2. Joan McVaugh as Township Treasurer
- 3. Sharon Norris as Township Secretary
- 4. Lamb McErlane as Township Solicitor
- 5. LTL Consultants as Township General and Traffic Engineer, Township Building Inspector/Zoning Officer and Code Enforcement Officer
- 6. Ragan Engineering as General Engineer Special Projects
- 7. AECOM as Township Sanitary Engineer

On motion by Mrs. Morris, 2nded by Mr. Gerstenhaber, Dick Whipple was appointed to a 1-year term on the Vacancy Board through Dec. 31, 2020 on a 3-2 vote with Mr. Auerbach and Mrs. Dea voting nay. Mr. Auerbach read a prepared statement voicing his concerns with Mr. Whipple's appointment.

On motion by Mr. Gerstenhaber, 2nded by the Chairman, Chuck Phillips was appointed to a 4-year term on the PC through December 31, 2023. The BOS recognized Mr. Phillip's contributions to the PC.

Mrs. Dea made a motion, 2nded by Mr. Auerbach to appoint herself to a 4-year term as PC Alternate. The motion failed 2-3 with Supervisors Gerstenhaber, McVeigh and Morris voting nay. On motion by the Chair, 2nded by Vice Chair McVeigh, Dave Gerstenhaber was appointed to a 4-year term as PC alternate on a 4-1 vote with Supervisor Dea voting Nay. This term expires on December 31, 2023.

On motion by Supervisor Auerbach, 2nded by Supervisor Dea, Bill Finch was appointed to a 3-year term on the Zoning Hearing Board through December 31, 2022. The motion was unanimous.

On motion by the Chair, 2nded by Mr. Gerstenhaber, Nancy Chromey was appointed to a 3-year term as ZHB alternate through December 31, 2022. The motion carried unanimously.

On motion by Mrs. McVeigh, 2nded by Mr. Auerbach, Harold Walls was appointed (on a 5-0 vote) to a 1-year term as Emergency Management Coordinator through December 31, 2020. The BOS complimented Mr. Walls on his excellent work.

On motion by Mr. Gerstenhaber, 2nded by Mr. Auerbach, Brent Van Lith was unanimously appointed to a 5-year term on the UCC Appeals Board through December 31, 2024. The BOS discussed the UCC Board's function in the Township and how the UCC Board has not been utilized in at least 15 years.

On motion by Supervisor Dea, 2nded by Supervisor Gerstenhaber, Resolution 2020-01 was adopted. This resolution sets the salaries of Township engineers and consultants. The Board directed Manager McVaugh to follow up with AECOM regarding the percentage increase on one of their Engineers' rates.

On motion by Mr. Auerbach, 2nded by Mrs. Morris, Resolution 2020-02 was adopted which authorizes the firm of Barbacane Thornton to conduct the 2019 Township Audit. Mrs. Morris asked the Manager/Treasurer whether she felt that the auditor was remiss in their auditing of Kennett Township which lead to a discussion on the recent embezzlement by the former Kennett Manager. Mrs. McVaugh explained all of the checks and balances that Franklin has in place.

On motion by the Chair, 2nded by Mrs. Dea, the Board adopted Resolution 2020-03 authorizing the use of Fulton Bank and the Pennsylvania Local Government Investment Trust (PLGIT) as designated financial institutions for the Township.

On motion by Mrs. McVeigh, 2nded by Mr. Auerbach, the Board adopted Resolution 2020-04, the fee resolution outlining the costs involved in doing business within the Township. It was explained that the Township does not make money on permitting.

On motion by Mr. Gerstenhaber, 2nded by Ms. Morris, the Board adopted Resolution 2020-05, the signer's resolution, designating those township officials who are authorized signers for Township funds and accounts. The Township requires 2 Supervisor signatures and the signature of the Manager/Treasurer.

All of these motions passed 5-0.

On motion by Mrs. Dea, 2nded by Mr. Auerbach, the Board authorized the staff to advertise the 2020 township meeting schedule as follows:

Setting the Board of Supervisors meetings for the 3rd Wednesday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. (*except the January meeting will be held on January 21, 2020)

Setting the Planning Commission meetings for the 1st Thursday of each month beginning at 7 p.m. (*except for the January meeting which will be held on January 9th)

Setting the joint Historical Commission/HARB meetings for the 1st Tuesday of every month as needed beginning at 7 p.m.

Setting the Emergency Management meetings for the 1st Monday of each month as needed.

On a motion by Mr. Auerbach, 2nded by Mrs. Dea, the following dates were unanimously recognized as official paid holidays for the Township staff and the Township office will be closed.

January 1 – New Year's Day January 20 – Martin Luther King Day February 17 – President's Day April 10 – Good Friday May 25 – Memorial Day July 3 – Independence Day September 7 – Labor Day November 26 & 27 - Thanksgiving Holiday December 24 & 25 – Christmas Holiday

The Board unanimously authorized the use of the Daily Local News, the Chester County Press and the AG Sun for all legal advertising. Mrs. Morris' motion was 2nded by Mr. Gerstenhaber.

On motion by Vice Chair McVeigh, seconded by Mr. Auerbach, the Board approved the Treasurer's Bond to be set at \$1.5 million. The motion was unanimous.

Supervisor Gerstenhaber made a motion that 1 of any of the 5 Supervisors be the voting delegate at the 2020 PSATS Annual Convention in Hershey, PA in May. This motion was 2nded by the Chair and carried 5-0. Mr. Auerbach recommended that the new Supervisors attend the Convention on voting day at least once.

Public Comment: Mr. Walls informed the newer supervisors that they should attend the Newly Elected Officials Public Information course that will be offered in this part of the County at a date TBD. Mr. Walls will keep the BOS posted.

Meeting adjourned at 7:50 p.m.