
Good morning! 
 
Tonight is the last Friday for many areas in regards to the regular season! Even if not, we have only one 
week remaining! Enjoy it! 
 
Take a look at another back court play here. 
 
There are 2 questions that need answered to determine if this was a correct back court violation call. 
 

1) Did red have possession (or control) when he threw/directed it back inbounds? 
2) Did the red teammate leave the floor from the back court, catch the ball in the air and land in 

the front court? 
 
The answer to question 2 is easy…YES. 
 
The answer to question 1 CAN be judgement at times, but in this particular play, he grabbed the ball, 
moved it from the left hand to the right hand and threw it back inbounds. This is control, which mean 
the ball had front court status when he threw it back in. When the teammate caught it in the air after 
leaving from the back court (now the ball had back court status) and lands in the front court, we have a 
violation. 
 
Some of you may have heard the phrase in regards to back court/front court and re-establishing 
inbounds from out-of-bounds ‘You are where you were until you get where you are going.’ This means 
that when you leave the floor by jumping from the back court, you are still in the back court until you 
have landed in the front court. Pretty good phrase to help remember these types of plays! 
 
Friday Extra: Say ‘thank you’ to those people who have helped you along the way this year. They KNOW it 
already but it sure means a great deal when they are told! 
 
Friday Bonus: One more week….what are you working on this last week of the season??? 
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1OjWtR9tm3tZFrLL9A1V4dJRErR3KOmnN/view?usp=sharing

