

NORTH DAKOTA HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION www.ndhsaa.com - www.ndhsaanow.com

MATTHEW FETSCH Executive Director

Valley City, ND 58072 Telephone: (701) 845-3953

PO Box 817

2021-2022 NDHSAA BOARD OF DIRECTORS Dr. Mark Rerick, President... Grand Forks Jeremy Brandt, Vice President .. Buxton Kirsten Baesler. Bismarck Alexis Baxley Bismarck Ned Clooten Wahpeton Rick Diegel . Steele Guy Fridley Dickinson Valley City Josh Johnson Andrew Jordan Wilton Bismarck Paul Jundt. Dave Schoch Velva

> Brian Bubach, Associate Director Justin Fletschock, Assistant Director Kevin Morast, Assistant Director Nick Walton, Assistant Director Tom Mix, Media Specialist

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

To: State Sports MediaFrom: Tom Mix, NDHSAA Media SpecialistDate: February 8, 2022Re: 2022 NDHSAA State Debate Tournament Results

The 109th Annual North Dakota High School Activities Association State Debate Tournament was held at Fargo Davies High School on Saturday, February 5, 2022. Fargo Davies was crowned champion with 57 points. West Fargo Sheyenne received Runner-Up award with 30 points.

The CSTAND coach of the year as elected by his peers was Christian Novak, coach at Fargo South High School.

Division I Lincoln-Douglas Debate --1st Place – Gabrielle McGarvey, Fargo South; 2nd Place – Sudiksha Singhal, Grand Forks Red River; Semifinalists – Hannah Heidenreich, Fargo Davies; Sameer Colbert, Fargo Davies; Quarterfinalists – Keona Munowenyu, West Fargo Sheyenne; Sadie Bovkoon, West Fargo Sheyenne; Sameera Kathawala, Bismarck Public, Aaron Qiu, Fargo Davies.

Division II Lincoln-Douglas Debate -- 1st Place – Bruce Lin, Fargo Davies; 2nd Place – Ariel Bahn, Fargo Davies; Semifinalists – Morgan Downs, West Fargo Sheyenne; Jordan Graves, West Fargo Horace; Quarterfinalists – Dora Dalmi, Grand Forks Central; Amber Stephani, Grand Forks Central; Britta Soderholm, West Fargo Horace; Isabel Scherer, Fargo Davies.

Division I Public Forum Debate -- 1st Place Team – Eric Bender/Sana Kathawala, Bismarck Public; 2nd Place Team – Addie Raum/Nathan Rateau, Fargo South; Semifinalists – Melody Jiang/Amro Heshmat, Fargo Davies; Anusha Yadav/Cady Wang, Fargo Davies Quarterfinalists – Quincy Oschner/Madeline Abbott, Shanley.

Division II Public Forum Debate -- 1st Place Team – Hosna Dawlaty/Vidyaa Lav, West Fargo Sheyenne; 2nd Place Team – Hadley Greer/ Srividhya Igathanithane, Bismarck Public; Semifinalists – Lydia Picotte/Angel Mochoge, Fargo Davies; Olivia Seibel/Sara Anderson, Bismarck Public; Quarterfinalists – Elijah Hayes/EllaNora Nyberg, West Fargo Sheyenne; Keagan Kratcha/Jayla Ridout, West Fargo Horace; Kipling Olson/ Peter Duncan, Fargo South; Jonah Koppelman/Reagan Follingstad, West Fargo Sheyenne. Participating schools included: Bismarck Public Schools, Fargo Davies, Fargo South, Grand Forks Central, Grand Forks Red River, Shanley, West Fargo Horace, and West Fargo Sheyenne.