The Town of Orange, 1872

From an article in the Orange County Historical Newsletter:

"... the village of Orange Courthouse officially became the Town of Orange...in 1872.

"Acts of the Virginia General Assembly in 1855, 1870, and 1871 led up to the first elections of a Board of Trustees (now called Town Council) for the Town of Orange. In March of 1872 a petition was filed in the County Court requesting the election. The records show that approximately 72 residents were eligible to vote, and since the petition had been signed by a majority of these, Judge William G. Williams ordered that the election take place. R.G. Eckloff, George Cullen, Joseph H. Houseworth, Alexander Dabney, and James L. Robinson were appointed to run this election which was held in June of '72. Forty-five voters participated in the election of the following members of the Board: P.P. Slaughter, R.G. Eckloff, P.B. Hlden, James L. Robinson and Thomas P. Wallace. The first meeting was held later that month and P.B. Hiden was selected as President of the Board and thus the first Mayor of the Town of Orange."

The map (and key) below shows the location of lot owners at the time that the Town of Orange was officially established 1872.²

1. County Courthouse	2. S. Yates	3. Joseph Hiden
4. Not listed	5. Mrs. M. Taylor	6. S. Yates
7. S. Yates	8. Mrs. L. Davenport	9. P.B. Hiden
10. Mackenzie	11. ? Scott	12. McConkey & Co.
13. J. M. Chapman	14. R. S. Boulware	15. Mackenzie
16. R. Stanard	17. J. Taliaferro	18. Mrs. M. Hiden
19. A. Madison	20. J.J. Robinson	21. W. H. Ricketts
22. C. Raby	23. F. Lipscomb	24. J. F. Allen
25. J. H. Houseworth	26. J.H. Houseworth	27. Methodist Church
28. Mrs. P. Curtis	29. F. Lipscomb	30. C. Faulconer
31. A. Daley	32. P. B. Hiden	33. Episcopal Church
34. Colored Church	35. C. Robinson	36. R.S. Boulware
37. T. Newman	38. L. Robinson	39. J.H. Houseworth
40. W.C. Williams	41. H. Malcombe	42. V.A. Houseworth
43. W. Stephens	44. W. Stephens	45. Benjamin Rose
46. W. C. Williams	47. C. Hellwig	48. L. T. Oden
49. R.G. Eckloff	50. L.L. Perry	51. C. Hellwig
52. Mrs. Read	53. Colston	54. A. Daley
55. Webb	56. M.B. Lipscomb	57. M.B. Lipscomb
58. M.B. Lipscomb	59. M.B. Lipscomb	60. M.B. Lipscomb

¹ Author unknown, "Happy 120th Anniversary!", *Orange County Historical Society Newsletter*, Volume 23, Number 8 (August 1992), 2.

_

² Ibid.

61. Not Listed

64. R.G. Eckloff

67. Fitzhugh Lipscomb

70. O & A RR Depot

73. Illegible

76. Clerk's Office

79. J.H. Johnson

82. Baptist Church

85. Mrs. L.A. Shepherd

88. Dr. R.D Taliaferro

91. R. Triplett

94. G. Cullen

97. Dr. E.P. Taliaferro

100. A.R. Thompson

62. M.B. Lipscomb

65. P.P. Slaughter

68. H. Stanard

71. Illegible

74. Illegible

77. J.H. Houseworth

80. Orange County Jail

83. Dr. E. Row

86. T.A. Robinson

89. M. Maddox

92. T.J. Payton

95. Mrs. P. Fry

98. Mrs. C. Ballard

101. W.C. Atkins

63. R.G. Eckloff

66. Dr. E.P. Taliaferro

69. W.H. Chapman

72. C. Fellwig

75. llegible

78. A. Daley

81. Dr. E. Row

04 A T Charban

84. A.T. Shepherd 87. Mrs. C. Rawlings

90. Mrs. S. Bull

93. M.V. Wayland

96. Miss M. Balch

99. Presbyterian Church

102. Miss Julia Atkins

