Three Lake LID Introduction

The Sherburne County Commissioners formally adopted the Three Lake Improvement District on June 14, 2014, and appointed the first LID directors on July 12, 2016.

At their regular June meeting the commissioners unanimously approved the 'Order To Establish' the Three Lake Improvement District. The Order spells out the findings [all of the steps to establish the LID], as well as the reasons to establish, possible programs and services, LID authority, LID financing and the board of directors.

As required in the Order To Establish, there are 7 LID directors, all property owners on the three lakes with a majority of Directors being residents.

The following are the first set of Directors, appointed by the commissioners, with their initial terms:

Walt Munsterman	3 yr term	Rush Lake
Scott Ruiter	3 yr term	Rush Lake
Rich Carothers	3 yr term	Rush Lake
Harry Ernzer	2 yr term	Briggs Lake
Paul Hans	2 yr term	Briggs Lake
Steve Demeules	1 yr term	Briggs Lake
Jim Arbiter	1 yr term	Julia Lake

The LID will begin operations in 2017, with the first project focusing on the management of AIS [aquatic invasive species]. The LID Directors also determined the first LID officers:

Chair Scott Ruiter
Vice Chair Walt Munsterman
Treasurer Harry Ernzer
Secretary Steve Demeules

The LID directors also appointed Kenzie Phelps to be an advisor to the directors.

The first annual LID meeting was held on August 27, 2016.

Three Lake LID was reviewed, and the 2017 budget was presented and voted on.