Arizona Federation of Republican BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING MINUTES Hilton Phoenix/Mesa May 16, 2015

Call to Order: President Mary Williams called the meeting to order at 9:05 A.M.

Invocation: Led by Chaplain Gayle Salter

<u>Pledge of Allegiance:</u> Led by Thunder Mountain RW President, Karla Rothrock

<u>Introductions:</u> President Williams introduced the head table and new club presidents as well.

Roll Call: Secretary Carmel Scharenbroich called the roll and confirmed a quorum was present.

Minutes:

Winter State Meeting: AzFRW Board of Director (BOD) Minutes of February 25, 2015 were approved as submitted.

Executive Committee Recommendations: Secretary Scharenbroich presented to the board the following recommendations:

- The approval of \$250 to donate to new clubs for start up-Adopted
- The approval of re-alignment of regions and merger as proposed-Adopted (see attachment)

Officer Reports

<u>President:</u> President Williams thanked Region I Director, Sara Rosevear and Region VI Director, Kathy Jacobs for hosting this meeting.

Election-AzFRW Delegates & Alternates for NFRW National Convention: President Williams reviewed the nomination process. Nominations were taken from the floor followed by the election for 8 Delegates-at-Large and 8 Alternates-at-Large to the national convention in Phoenix, September 2015. Results to be announced at lunch (See addendum).

<u>1st Vice President</u>: Loraine Pellegrino, 1st Vice President/Programs, reflected back on the 2 terms she has served as AzFRW 1st Vice President. She notes there are 1100 followers on the AzFRW Twitter account. She introduced Ryan Peters, Director of Boards & Commission for Governor Doug Ducey. Mr Peters discussed the variety of boards and commissions (>200) under the governor and invited all to apply. There are currently over 300 vacancies-if interested go to bc.azgovernor.gov

2nd Vice President: Joan Lang, 2nd Vice President/Membership, announced the winners of:

Most Members Award Most Registered for Summer Meeting Mileage
RW of Prescott Central RW of Phoenix Lake Havasu RW
Arrowhead RW Ahwatukee RW
Palo Verde RW Palo Verde RW

She introduced 1st time attendees and the winner of the \$100 gift certificate towards NFRW registration, Karla Rothrock

<u>3rd Vice President</u>: Yoli Bounds, 3rd Vice President/Ways & Means, thanked all for their support during her term as 3rd Vice President. She announced that we surpassed our goal with 105% projected income. She will continue to sell angel jewelry though the convention with an Angels Reception to be held during that time.

<u>Treasurer's Report</u>: Treasurer Susan Marcell reviewed the current report with a note regarding the monies made at the Gaslight Theatre event. Report will be filed as submitted. She announced deadline for 3rd quarter dues for NFRW delegates, May 20, 2015 and deadline for 3rd quarter dues for AzFRW delegate, June 15, 2015. She reported that the NFRW database is up and running at this time.

Region Directors Reports: None given at this time (see newsletter) President Williams introduced all of the Region Directors.

Committee Reports

President Williams recognized all of the committee chairs present. Reports given for the following:

Standing Committees

- Americanism-Patt Parker- recommended that all members do something extra special in May honoring the military
- Arrangements-Kathy Dolge- nothing to note at this time
- Bylaws-Jan Hermsmeyer- announced this was the last meeting to submit bylaw changes which will be published in the call (7 submitted). She thanked her committee for their participation.
- Campaign-Zanetta Boughan (excused)- submit hours for awards hours
- **Literacy-Nancy Kay Arnold-**the committee has made a selection for the Teacher of Year which will be presented at the state convention luncheon.
- Nominating-Sue Donahue- thanked her committee and reported the nomination selections:
- President- Loraine Pellegrino
- 1st Vice President- Lori Urban
- 2nd Vice President- Cindy Casaus
- 3rd Vice President- Mary Baumbach
- Treasurer- Susan Marcell
- Secretary-Anita Romero
- Region I (formerly Region IX) Joan Harris
- Region II JoAnn Evans
- Region III Judy Langer
- Region IV LaJuana Gillette (former Region I will merge with Region IV)
- Region V Pam Calhoon
- Region VI Nancy Cottle
- Region VII Carol Jones
- Region VIII Allison Mary

Nomination were also taken from the floor at this time

- President- Joan Lang
- 1st Vice President- None
- 2nd Vice President- None
- 3rd Vice President- None

- Treasurer- None
- Secretary- None
- Region I-None
- Region II-None
- Region III- None
- Region IV- None
- Region V- None
- Region VI- None
- Region VII- None
- Region VIII- None

Nominations were closed and there will be no nominations from the floor at convention.

• Scholarship-Hon Brenda Burns- (excused) President Williams announced the TARS Scholarship and the Laura Bush Scholarship have been awarded. The recipients are listed in the program guide but were unable to attend.

Special Committees

- Awards-Leona Johnston- thanked all who attended the workshop and reminded members AzFRW awards forms are due to Leona on June 1st and the NFRW awards forms are due to Mary Williams on June 1st.
- AzFRW 2015 Convention-Carol Jones- thanked all who attended the workshop and convention packets are still available for pick up.
- Caring for America-Anita Romero- monies were collected for Operation Enduring Gratitude at this meeting with \$674 donated at time of report.
- **Newsletter-Cheryl Pelletier-** last newsletter was distributed. The State Convention Call will be sent out this summer.
- NFRW Regents-Pat Kaufman-nothing to note at this time
- NFRW 2015-Mary Baumbach & Margo Treece- thanked all who attended workshop

New Business

None noted

Unfinished Business

None noted

Announcements

Adjourn: 11:09 A.M.

Newsletter ballots will be submitted to Awards Chairman, Leona Johnston. Results will be announced at state convention Scrapbook winner will be announced at state convention

Carmel Scharenbroich AzFRW Secretary	Approved:	
	Approved:	
	Αρρίονου.	

<u>Addendum</u>

2015 NFRW Delegate-at-Large Results

- Carmel Scharenbroich
- ◆ Loraine Pellegrino
- ♦ Leona Johnston
- ◆ Jan Hermsmeyer
- Carol Jones
- Noreen Thomas
- Barb McMullen
- LaJuana Gillette

2015 NFRW Alternates-at-Large Results (in order)

- 1. Patt Parker
- 2. Diane Ortiz-Parsons
- 3. Tina Shaw
- 4. Pat Kaufman
- 5. Kathy Dolge
- 6. Kathy Jones
- 7. Nancy Salmon
- 8. Joan Harris

MOTION: A motion was made to destroy ballots, m/s/c