
Good morning! 
 
More freedom of movement today…….here is a clip of an armbar that was correctly ruled a foul. THIS is 
an example of 10.6…and automatic foul. This was a prefect application of the rule by the T. 
 
Let’s take a look more at the positioning and primary coverage areas (PCA) for this play. The ball-handler 
and defender are well into the T’s PCA. This entire play is the responsibility of the T as the drive to the 
baseline begins. The L is also looking directly at the play. This is not within his PCA but there is no 
competitive matchup in his PCA either. Personally I would rather the L stay focused on his PCA until the 
drive arrives in his PCA. As such, we ended up with a double whistle that was easily preventable. At the 
very least, the L needed to give the T first chance at this foul. Fortunately they did have the same call 
(we assume) and that the L did not start to run out to report the foul.  
 
There are several philosophies about who takes this drive to the hole. The bottom line is that drives 
from C and T MUST render some discussion time in your pregame meeting! Talking before saves grief 
afterwards! 
 
Thursday Extra: Make sure to contact AND receive a reply from your partner regarding upcoming 
games……do not assume all is good! 
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EWWDD33fTt93-dGxB_8i6qKb6ZFupv0q/view?usp=sharing

