## Minutes of the Special Meeting

Joint Powers Board
Northwest Suburban Integration School District #6078
February 24, 2016

## Call to Order

Chair Riddle called the special meeting of the Joint Powers Board to order at 6:18 PM on Wednesday, February 24, 2016, at the Northwest Suburban Integration School District Office. Members present: Kris Abrahamson, Ruthie Dallas, Jacki Girtz, Dan Hunt, Jen Ogden, Chris Riddle, Jeff Simon, Jon Tynjala and ex-officio Melissa Jordan. Paul Durand (Rockford) represented the Superintendent Advisory Group.

## **Approval of Agenda**

Motion by Simon, seconded by Hunt, to approve the agenda as presented for February 24, 2016. Upon vote being taken, all voted in favor, none voted against. Motion carried.

# <u>Discussion and Approval of proposed new magnet schools to be included in the Magnet Schools Assistance Program (MSAP) Grant Application</u>

This special meeting was called for discussion and approval of the proposed new NWSISD magnet schools to be included in the Magnet School Assistance Program grant application. Executive Director Jordan and member district superintendents have been working together to determine the schools to be included in the grant, which includes racially isolated and non-racially isolated schools. The grant award is \$12 million for a 3-year cycle and is due on April 25, 2016. NWSISD has contracted with a grant writer, and a collaborative grant committee comprised of a representative from each participating member district will assist with the grant components. At this time, the following schools and theme strands have met the established criteria to be included in the grant application, however, some schools may be removed from grant consideration by a member district.

- Anoka-Hennepin School District: Anoka High School STEAM Program; Coon Rapids area elementary STEM (school to be determined)
- o Brooklyn Center Schools: Brooklyn Center Secondary STEAM; Earle Brown Elementary STEAM
- <u>Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools</u>: Montrose Elementary STEAM
- Elk River Area School District: Otsego E-8 School Dual Language
- Osseo Area Schools: Elm Creek Elementary Dual Language; Park Brook Elementary STEM;
   Zanewood Elementary STEM
- Rockford Area Schools: Rockford High School IB

Motion by Abrahamson, seconded by Simon, to approve proposed new magnet schools as presented for inclusion in the MSAP grant application, and upon grant approval, will be NWSISD magnet schools. Provided the grant application is not awarded, any proposed school will be brought back and subject to the criteria for adding a school as a NWSISD magnet school. Upon vote being taken, all voted in favor, none voted against. Motion carried.

#### <u>Adjournment</u>

Motion by Abrahamson, seconded by Ogden, to adjourn the meeting at 7:05 PM. Upon vote being ta	ken, all	voted
in favor, none voted against. Motion carried.		