

Date	Tuesday, June 14, 2016
Time	7:45 pm
Location	Coconut Creek Community Center

Meeting start

Meeting was called to order at 7:45 pm by Lisa Aronson. Aronson asked State Representative Kevin Rader to lead the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.

Aronson called for a moment of silence for the victims of the shooting in Orlando and for two former Coconut Creek officials who recently passed away.

Aronson acknowledge the attendance of VIPs. They were:

Mike Satz, State Attorney

Isabela Dorneles for State Rep. Kristin Jacobs

Jason Rothman for State Rep. Kristin Jacobs

Kevin Rader, State Rep – Candidate for State Senate (District 29)

Sharnell Jackson – Candidate for Broward County School Board #9

Patricia Duaybes - Candidate for Coconut Creek City Commissioner

Board Recommendations

Before conducting the elections, Aronson gave a brief history concerning why the club was now having elections. She explained that the club went into hiatus for several months but was now ready to start again. Aronson also reported on items that were recommended by the Club's Board for discussion/vote by the members. The Board recommended that there will be no audio or video recording of club meetings. The Board believes that such recordings were be distracting to members and visitors. After the announcement, Candidate Duaybes interjected that comments that she had been recording others, including Coconut Creek City Commissioner John Rydell, were false. There was another recommendation that there should be an exception for media or for security purposes. The Board's recommendation was tabled.



Elections

Aronson then explained the election process and announced that State Committeewoman Maggie Davidson was in attendance to assist members. Members were given the opportunity to nominate members for leadership roles. There was a discussion concerning creating co-presidents. This idea was later abandoned. Greg Gayle was nominated to be club president. Gayle's nomination was unopposed and was elected president.

There was a discussion concerning the number of club vice presidents. Several members gave their points of view. Greenwald recommended three vice presidents who would lead club committees. Sydney countered that the club membership was too small to have more than one vice president. Aronson asked the membership to determine the number of club vice presidents. The membership voted to have one vice president position. Both Greenwald and Sydney were nominated for the vice president position. After a secret paper ballot, Sydney was elected to the post.

Penny Kalikow was nominated unopposed and elected to the position of club secretary. James Lansing was also nominated unopposed for the position of Treasurer, and was elected.

There was a discussion concerning the number of club board members. The members decided on seven positions. Mike Donovan, Mitch Grant, Joel Greenwald, Richard Mead, Josh Rydell, Patricia Duaybes and Rene Chamberlain were nominated and elected to the board. Jack Shifrel was elected parliamentarian.



List of Elected Officers and Directors

Elected Officers

President: Gregory Gayle

Vice President: Ronny Sydney

Secretary: Penny Kalikow Treasurer: James Lansing Parliamentarian: Jack Shifrel

Elected Board of Directors

Rene Chamberlain

Mike Donovan

Patricia Duaybes

Mitch Grant

Joel Greenwald

Richard Mead

Joshua Rydell

Website

Gayle premiered the club's new website and solicited comments from the membership. Universal praise was expressed by the membership.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned 9:40 pm