
Good morning! 
 
The first Tuesday of hoops season! This is the only full week before the holidays, so enjoy it! 
 
Take a look at another freedom of movement play here. 
 
What did you see? Was there a hand check foul committed? Was it ENOUGH to call? Well…….after the 
call was made, there was the potential for a player control foul committed by the ball handler….AFTER 
the hand check foul. Was it ‘enough’ for a foul? YES! ANY hand check contact more than one hot stove 
touch is a foul. In this particular play, the hand check WAS called….and prevented a decision on a player 
control. If the hand check had NOT been called and a player control assessed, the ball handler would 
have been penalized twice……once for his defender not being assessed a hand check foul and second for 
being called for the player control foul. Remember that hand checking has nothing to do with 
advantage/disadvantage and nothing to do with ‘north/south or east/west’. Hand checks have 
EVERYTHING to do with following the rule. This is the only contact foul rule that is explicitly defined….. 
ANY hand check contact more than one hot stove touch is a foul.  
 
This play was a great get from the T….talk in pregame conferences with your partner(s) about hand 
checking!  
 
Tuesday Extra: In regards to the player/team control fouls and the procedure……the signal at the spot 
must be the fist followed by the hand behind the head, etc. At the table, we may say ‘illegal screen’ or 
‘block’ in addition to the player/team control signal for clarification. 
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1EQEFTIDl3O23Pkvpa_a_NzDau1fP2n0U/view?usp=sharing

