
 
 

Guidelines for the Option to Advance the Ball 
Prepared by Jon Levinson, NCAA Women’s Basketball Secretary-Rules Editor 

 
What is the rule? 
 

• During the last 59.9 seconds of the game (fourth period or any extra period) when the 
team in control of the ball, or the team who is to be awarded a throw-in in their 
backcourt, is granted a timeout, the team will have the option to move the throw-in 
spot to the 28-foot line in the frontcourt on the same side of the playing court as the 
scorers’ table. 

 
• The game time when the timeout is granted and charged, and not the time that team 

control began, will determine whether the option is available to the team calling 
timeout. 

 
• An opponent’s timeout or an electronic-media timeout does not provide a team with 

the option to advance the ball (unless the electronic-media timeout is a result of the 
team in control requesting a timeout, e.g., the first team-called timeout in the second 
half). 

 
• If the team advances the ball by a pass or dribble, in any direction, before the timeout 

is granted, the team will no longer have the option to advance the ball. 
 
• If the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt before the timeout, successive 

timeouts do not provide the team with the option to advance the ball. 
 
• If the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt and the team in control is still 

in their backcourt when the defense commits a common foul before the bonus is in 
effect or a violation, the option is available to the team in control when they request a 
timeout. 

 
• If the ball has been dribbled or passed in the backcourt and play is stopped for a 

timing or scoring mistake, an inadvertent whistle, a held ball, a technical foul assessed 
to the team in control, or for an injury, blood situation or lost or displaced 
glasses/lenses and the team in control calls a timeout, the option to advance is NOT 
available. 

 
• The head coach must notify the officials of his/her intent to advance the ball before 

the timeout has been reported to the scorer. If the head coach does not inform the 
officials before the timeout has been reported to the scorer, play will resume at the 
point of interruption. 
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Plays: 
 
Play 1: Following a made goal by Team A with 49.9 seconds remaining in the fourth 
period, Team B immediately calls timeout.  May Team B advance the ball to the 28-foot 
line in the frontcourt on the table side? 
 
Ruling 1: Yes, provided the head coach of Team B notified the officials of his/her use of 
the option before the timeout was reported to the scorer. 

 
Play 2: If in Play 1, Team A (the team that scored) calls the timeout, does Team B have 
the option to advance the ball? 
 
Ruling 2: No, unless Team B calls a timeout after Team A’s timeout. 
 
Play 3: A1 secures a rebound in her backcourt with 1:05 remaining in the fourth period. 
She holds the ball for 8 seconds when the head coach of Team A calls timeout.  Does 
Team A have the option to advance the ball to the 28-foot line in the frontcourt? 
 
Ruling 3: Yes. The determining factor as to when the option is available is the time on 
the game clock when the timeout is granted and charged. 
 
Play 4: A1, dribbling in her frontcourt, has the ball stolen from her by B1.  B1 does not 
pass or dribble the ball.  Team B calls a timeout with 30.2 seconds remaining in the 
game.  May Team B advance the ball? 
 
Ruling 4: Yes. 
 
Play 5: Team A inbounds the ball following a successful field goal with 45.5 seconds 
remaining in the game.  While A1 is dribbling in her backcourt: 
 
(1) Is fouled by B1 before the bonus is in effect for Team A; 

 
(2) B1 commits a kick ball violation; 
 
(3) B1 causes a held ball and the alternating-possession arrow favors Team A; 

 
(4) There is a timing or scoring mistake; 
 
(5) The official has an inadvertent whistle; 
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(6) A2 is injured, bleeding, or has a lost or displaced lens. 
 

If Team A calls a timeout, do they have the option to advance the ball? 
 
Ruling 5: In (1) and (2), Team A has the option to advance the ball. While Team A has 
advanced the ball in their backcourt by a dribble or pass, because there was a foul or 
violation by Team B which causes a throw-in in the backcourt, Team A will have the 
option to advance the ball if Team A calls a timeout.  In (3), (4), (5) and (6), if Team A 
calls a timeout, they will not have the option to advance the ball. 
 
Play 6: A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball: 
 
(1) Into Team A’s backcourt and A1 secures control of the ball or 

 
(2) Into Team A’s backcourt and the ball goes out of bounds. 
 
If Team A calls a timeout, do they have the option to advance the ball? 
 
Ruling 6: In (1), Team A does not have the option to advance the ball, as there has been 
no change in team control when A1 secured control of the ball.  In (2), Team A does 
have the option, as B1’s knocking the ball out of bounds (violation) caused there to be a 
throw-in in Team A’s backcourt. 
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