
Good morning! 
 
Hope you had a fantastic holiday season and are rested and ready for the next 6 weeks of 
the regular season! 
 
Rule 9.3.3 was added last year to assess a violation when a player goes out of bounds on 
his/her own volition (intentionally) and is the first to touch the ball after returning to the 
playing court. The NFHS added a case play this year to help clarify what ‘first to touch’ 
means. It does not clear everything up but does clarify that if a player who possesses the 
ball continues to possess (dribble) it and a player who went OOB and comes back in and 
‘cuts to get open’ and the defense ‘recovers’ then if that player receives a pass, it is not a 
violation. This is explained in case play 9.3.3 Situation B.  
 
Take a look at an example of this situation HERE. 
 
This play should not be a violation since blue 1 goes OOB, comes back in and the defense 
has obviously recovered. The point guard was still dribbling well after blue 1 returned 
inbounds and passed to blue 1. There was no advantage gained so no violation on this play.  
 
This case play seems to indicate that advantage/disadvantage is the spirit of this rule. 
 
Friday Extra: Getting the correct free throw shooter at the line is still an issue. The clip from 
December 11 (Free throw shooter switch) happened again with the same 
coach/team/player last Saturday. In a similar situation, a player was fouled and the coach 
yells ‘Make the free throws Brooke’ when it was not Brooke who was supposed to be 
shooting them. First, we need to identify free throw shooters as a crew, second know when 
we are in the bonus and third, do not let a coach get away with trying to deceive us. 
 
Have a great game tonight and an awesome 2025! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1XUAEpvZxNvHoYPtwQb8FQho6f75idfiA/view?usp=sharing

