## **Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association**

## Wednesday November 29, 2017

## Minutes for 2017 Annual Membership Meeting & Banquet

## Youngblood's Cafe, Amarillo, TX

President Kenneth Ewings welcomed the group at 7 pm. Following the invocation by Layne Hardesty, members and guests helped themselves to the fajita bar with drinks, trimmings and cobbler.

Kenneth introduced the guest speaker: Kyle Ingham, of the Panhandle Regional Planning Commission. Kyle gave a brief history of the establishment of Regional Planning Commissions, their activities and interactions with other entities stressing the overall development of the Regions. He stressed the importance of irrigated agriculture, not only in the Panhandle Region but also in other areas of the state.

Kenneth called the Annual Meeting to order at 7:40, noted that the minutes of the 2016 Annual meeting were available on the TAIA Website and reviewed the following Financial Report:

Regular			
Income 2016 (thru October)			\$17,005
Expenses 2016 (thru October)			\$19,195
Net for year			-\$2,190
Scholarship			
Income 2017 (thru October)			\$3,845
Expenses 2016 (thru October) stipends			\$3,500
Net for year		\$345	
October balances			
	Checking Account	\$10	00
	Sweep Account	\$24,123	
	CD \$32,70		02
	Total \$56,		25

Scholarship Account \$50

Sweep Account \$6,586

CD \$15,854

Total \$22,490

Total for all accounts: \$ 79,415

Kenneth gave the membership status as follows:

2017 Regular Memberships Paid 59

2017 Associate Memberships Paid 32

Total Membership 91

Three new members have been recruited for 2018

Scholarship Committee Chairman Greg Sokora reported on their activities. Because of some previous recipients dropping out of the program for various reasons there was room this year for two recipients to bring the total back to four. There were two highly qualified applicants as finalists this year so the committee decided to award a scholarship to each with the approval of the Board. The 2017 recipients were Macey Lange, Texas A&M, and Holt Bivens, TTU.

Greg suggested that with the scholarship funds currently available the scholarship committee be authorized to name two recipients in those cases where it was difficult to choose between the two top applicants. This was approved.

Scholarship Committee: Greg Sokora, Mark McCormick, James Prochaska

Holt Bivens –TTU

Kaylee Ites – Texas A&M

Emily Wade - TTU

Macey Lange – Texas A&M

March 1<sup>st</sup> 2018 deadline for 2018 scholarship applications. Forms available on website.

Executive Secretary Kern Stutler reviewed the following activities for 2017 and upcoming activities in 2018:

2017 High Plains Irrigation Conference and Trade Show, Feb 15, Amarillo Civic Center; 100 attendees, 22 exhibitors.

WATTS Conference, Lubbock, March 22. TAIA was one of the sponsors and had a booth.

Lower Rio Grande Valley Irrigation Conference and Trade Show, Oct 26, Mercedes, TX

Upcoming:

Irrigation Technology Fair, Dec 12, 2017, Comanche, TX. TAIA is a sponsor for this event and will have a booth.

Texas Alliance for Water Conservation Water College, January 24, 2018, Lubbock, TX. TAIA is a sponsor and will have a booth.

High Plains Irrigation Conference and Trade Show, February 7, 2018, Amarillo Civic Center.

4<sup>th</sup> Biennial North Texas – South Plains Water Conservation Symposium, February 27, 28, 2018, Amarillo Civic Center. TAIA is a sponsor for this event and will have a booth.

Officer and Board nominations for 2018 (Committee: Eddy Riggins and Bobby De Leon)

Nomination Committee Chairman Eddy Riggins reported on the activities of the committee. Because incoming president John Taylor resigned, the Board had previously accepted president Kenneth Ewings' offer to serve an additional year as president. Thus the candidates are:

Kenneth Ewings, (Senninger) President

Secretary-Treasurer - Bobby De Leon to Vice President (Jain Irrigation)

Secretary-Treasurer – David Lott (Fresno Valves)

West Region Representative – Mark McCormick agreed to serve again

North Region Representative—Anthony Kingery agreed to serve again

At-Large Representative – Paul Smith

Greg Sokora to fill one year vacancy left by David Lott

Slate of candidates approved by majority vote.

Volunteers for following committees:

Scholarship: Greg Sokora, Mike McCormick, Anthony Kingery

Nominations: Farris Hightower, Charles Hillyer

Audit: Kenneth Ewings, Layne Hardesty

Former President Albert Reyna presented out-going President Kenneth Ewings with a plaque and thanked him for his service during 2017 and announced his continuing presidency for 2018.

Meeting was adjourned at 8:20 pm.