

U.S. SEMIQUINCENTENNIAL COMMISSION

P.O. BOX 27840, WASHINGTON, D.C. 20038-7840 | (202) 478-3884 | america250.gov

March 4, 2022

Mississippi Society Sons of the American Revolution c/o Ben Block Jones II 246 Highland Place Dr. Jackson, MS 39211

Dear Compatriots:

I wanted to thank you for your support of legislation that would establish an official organization in Mississippi to commemorate 250 years since the United States of America declared its independence as a nation.

I have the honor of serving as Chairman of the United States Semiquincentennial Commission, which was formed by Congress to lead the nationwide commemoration of this historic milestone. The America250 Foundation, a 501c3 nonprofit, serves as the operational arm of the Commission. Together, the Commission and Foundation envision the America250 commemoration as a monumental, multiyear initiative, engaging all Americans in what we expect to be the largest and most inclusive anniversary observance in our nation's history.

Starting now and running beyond 2026, this nonpartisan effort will consider the full scope of American history, from the prerevolutionary era to today, and will engage states, territories, tribal nations and organizations, and communities across the country, as well as millions of friends worldwide.

We anticipate nearly 125,000 programs—the vast majority of which will be state- and territory-led initiatives—involving unprecedented engagement with residents, and resulting in billions of dollars in resources that will ripple through local, state, and territorial economies.

State and territorial involvement is a top priority of the Commission and Foundation, and we plan to work in full partnership with each state's and territory's official America250 entity in order to support programming efforts across the country and to facilitate a nationwide collaborative network. Through these commissions or organizations and their programs, states and territories will have the opportunity to highlight their unique stories and contributions throughout American history.

As we envision the potential of this historic undertaking and the legacy it will leave, we look forward to working with you and hope you will soon join those states and territories that have already established their official America250 organizations.

Again, thank you for your continued support and have a great annual meeting.

Sincerely,

ihilla

Daniel M. DiLella Chairman, U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission ddilella@america250.gov

The U.S. Semiquincentennial Commission was established by Congress to inspire all Americans and each American to participate in the 250th anniversary of the founding of the United States.

MEMBERS OF CONGRESS PRIVATE CITIZEN MEMBERS

Senator Robert Casey of Pennsylvania Senator Joano Shaheen of New Hampshire Senator Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania Rep. Robert Aderholt of Alabama Rep. Dwight Evans of Pennsylvania Rep. Maris Salazar of Fiorida Rep. Banis Bazar of Florida Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman of New Jersey Robert Brady of Pennsylvania David Cohen of Pennsylvania Val Crofts of Wisconsin Jee Crowley of New York Daniel DiLella of Pennsylvania (Chairman) Cathy Gillsepie of Virginia Neach Griffin of California Dr. Amy Gutmann of Pennsylvania Dr. Andrew Hohns of Pennsylvania Jim Koch of Massachusetts Dr. Wilfred McClay of Oklahoma Dr. Lucas Morel of Virginia Rosie Ries of California James Swanson of Washington, DC Thomas Walker of Alabama Lynn Forney Young of Texas

FEDERAL EX OFFICIO MEMBERS

Gen. Lloyd J. Austin III, Secretary of Defense Antony J. Blinken, Secretary of State Lonnie G. Bunchill, Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution Dr. Miguel Cardona, Secretary of Education Ann Ellers, Acting Chair of the National Endowment for the Arts David Perriero, Archivist of the U.S. Merrick B. Garland, Attorney General Crosby Kemper III, Director of the Institute of Museum & Library Services Deb Haaland, Secretary of the Interior Dr. Garla Hayden, Librarian of Congress Adam Wolfson, Acting Chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities Anthony Kennedy, Former Associate Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court