
Good morning! 
 
Just want to give the ruling for a play that is seen a few times a year and talked about WAY more! Can a 
team have all 5 players out of bounds on a throw-in? Take a look at an example here. 
 
Since this is a spot throw-in, it is illegal. Rule 9.3.3 and case play 9.2.9 define this. On a throw-in after a 
made goal or after a timeout immediately following a made goal, having all five players OOB when the 
thrower-in has the ball at his/her disposal is legal. 
 
In the play in the video, when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower-in, the other 4 players 
must immediately be in-bounds. If they are not, it is a throw-in violation. 
 
Thursday Extra: Make sure to confirm your game(s) with your partners – with many schedule changes, 
someone may forget to record a change! 
 
Have a great game tonight! 
 
Tim 

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1xvkvUFKDD5TGkZVKStNgG-UeG6ba_W3S/view?usp=sharing

