North Carolina Spirits Association



Legislative Report February 8, 2019

While it is likely that there will be over 2000 legislative bills introduced during this twoyear session, only 80 bills have been introduced so far. This does not mean that there is little activity going on at the General Assembly.

Many legislators are talking to their fellow members about various ideas for potential legislation. They are also contacting lobbyists for interested parties to get input prior to filing bills. By doing this, many legislators try to fix any potential problems with their bills before they are actually introduced. They also try to secure the support of various legislators that are recognized as being experts on a particular topic.

This process of drafting bills, discussing them with others, and getting them prepared for introduction will continue for the next several weeks. As the session progresses, more and more bills will be introduced in advance of the bill introduction deadlines that will come later this spring.

The rules adopted by the House provide that the following members of the House leadership are ex officio voting members of all House standing committees: the Speaker Pro Tempore Sarah Stevens (R-Surry), Rules Chairman David Lewis (R-Harnett), House Majority Leader John Bell (R-Wayne), and Deputy House Majority Leader Brenden Jones (R-Columbus). This rule has been referred to in past sessions as the "committee floater" rule, allowing certain members to attend and vote at various times during the legislative session. Another change would have most House bills to have a stop in the House Rules Committee before they would reach the House floor. The Senate has a similar rule.

The House and Senate adjourned on Thursday and will reconvene Monday evening.

ABC Committees

The membership of the House and Senate Committees that would most likely consider ABC related issues are as follows:

<u>House Alcoholic Beverage Control Committee</u> – Boles and McGrady, Chairs; Fisher and Hardister, Vice Chairs; Members: Alexander, Bell, Dahle, Dobson, Holley, Hurley, Johnson, Lucas, Meyer, Saine, B. Turner, Willingham, Yarborough, Zachary.

<u>Senate Commerce and Insurance Committee</u> – J. Alexander, Edwards, Gunn, Chairs; Members: T. Alexander, Brown, Clark, Foushee, Johnson, Lowe, McInnis, McKissick, Newton, Robinson, Sanderson, Sawyer, and Smith.

For more information about legislation described in the legislative reports, feel free to contact me at dferrell@nexsenpruet.com or (919) 573-7421. Information is also available on the General Assembly's website: www.ncleg.gov.

Prepared By: David P. Ferrell, Esq. - NCSA Lobbyist

NEXSEN PRUET PLLC
150 Fayetteville Street, Suite 1140
Raleigh, North Carolina 27601
Telephone: (919) 573-7421
dferrell@nexsenpruet.com
www.nexsenpruet.com