Recycling Coalition of West Virginia Meeting Minutes January 9, 2025 WVDEP Headquarters

Present:

Mark Holstine, Paul Hayes, Kyla Morris, Niki Davis, Lisa Facemyer, Robinson "Rob" Vanater, Sara Prior, Rebecca Friend, Travis Cooper, Annette Hoskins

This meeting was called to order by Chair Mark Holstine at 10:03 am.

Approval of Minutes:

Chair Mark Holstine asked for a motion to approve the minutes from the September 20, 2024 meeting. Lisa Facemyer made a motion to approve the minutes. Rob Vanater seconded the motion and it passed.

Appointing of Vice Chair

Chair Holstine appointed Kyla Morris as Vice Chairman of The Recycling Coalition of West Virginia. Upon appointment, Kyla Morris was given the keys to the post office box. Niki motioned for approval of spending \$15.00 for Lisa Facemyer's filing of new officers with the secretary of state.

The Recycling Coalition of West Virginia also plans to replace Paul Hayes with Mark Holstine and Tom Aluise with Kyla Morris as authorized signatories at Truist Bank.

Financial Report

Lisa Facemyer reported that the Coalition had a general operating balance of 17,830.37 as of September 30th, 2024. Credit card payments for the month of October and November were paid in full. Paul Hayes motioned to accept financial status. Rob Vanater seconded the motion and it passed.

Paul Hayes asked for approval to submit REAP Grant compliance paperwork. All attendees concurred.

Recycling Champions

Paul Hayes reported Lyle Cameron "Cam" Tabb of Berekley County, West Virginia was posthumously awarded the title of Recycling Champion. A service was held in memory of Cam Tabb at Kearnysville Fruit Tree Center where approximately 30 people, including reporters, family, and friends, were in attendance. Clint Hogbin, Chairman of Berkeley County Solid Waste Authority gave a dedication speech. Rob Vanater nominated Jacob George as next Recycling Champion. The nomination of Jacob George will be sent out to the Coalition for feedback and reviewed next meeting.

ReFashion Show

Paul Hayes reported 45 participants from all over the state of West Virginia in attendance. Chairman Mark Holstine suggested possibly deciding on new dates and locations for hosting the ReFashion Show. Rob proposed sending out a survey for feedback from Coalition members, to which Chairman Mark Holstine agreed upon. Rebecca Friend recommended "PRe-Fashion Show" for more local participation and competition.

Youth Contest

Youth Contest entries were judged and winners chosen. The Pre-K/K/1st grade winner of \$100 was Gertie Arbogast of the Haer Bears Cloverbuds 4-H Group. The 2nd/3rd grade winner of \$100 was Carly Duarte of Girl Scout Troop 35304. The 4th/5th grade winner of \$250 was Stephanie Wu of Girl Scout Troop 15102. The 6-8th grade winner of \$250 was Matthew Carothers of the Meadow Bridge Clovers 4-H Club. The 9-12th grade winner of \$250 was Deedra Groves from Brooke High School. In addition to these prizes, the administrator of the contest at each location will also receive a \$100 gift card.

Rebecca Friend proposed moving the contest to late spring.

Adult Contest

Paul Hayes drew the winning entry. The winner of the \$250 State Parks Gift Card from DNR was Charles Stowers of Kenna, WV. The runner up was Jannet Roach of Hurricane, WV.

Rebecca Friend proposed using mailing addresses on entries to send educational content.

Education Committee

Rob Vanater, Rebecca Friend, and Annette Hoskins agreed that, although science teachers are a good resource for educational content, art teachers have proven to be efficient and involved with teaching environmental education.

2025 REAP Grant

The paperwork that is in need of submitting was not completed. Chair Mark Holstine will work on paperwork January 9, 2025.

Adjournment

Chairman Mark Holstine asked for a motion to adjourn. Niki Davis motioned to adjourn. Rob Vanater seconded the motion and it passed. The meeting was adjourned at 10:49am.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held Tuesday, April 15, 2025 at 10:00am at the WVDEP Headquarters.