#### **Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association**

## Wednesday, December 2, 2015

# Minutes of 2015 Annual Membership Meeting & Banquet

## Saltgrass Steak House, Amarillo, Texas

President Mark Stutler welcomed the group of 41 members and guests at 7 pm following an earlier social hour. After the benediction the meal was served.

Following the meal Mark introduced the speaker for the evening, Sid Miller, Texas Ag Commissioner. His remarks included the reiteration that his number one priority was water and that he had established a Water Office for the purpose of pursuing that priority. He invited TAIA members to visit that office at any time. Mr. Miller gave his general impressions of Texas Agriculture and gave a run-down of the many activities in the state that TDA is responsible for.

Following Commissioner Miller's remarks Mark called the Annual Meeting to order at 8:30 pm. He thanked the current Board of Directors for their efforts the past year, especially those completing their term; Steve Driewer and Marty Hughes.

Secretary-Treasurer Kenneth Ewings referred to the minutes of the 2014 Annual Meeting that are available on the TAIA Website. He gave the following financial report.

#### **Financial Report**

Income 2015 (thru November)	\$20,865
Expenses 2015 (thru November)	\$17,617
Net for year	\$ 3,248
November balances	
Checking Account	\$100
Sweep Account	\$34,907.82
CD	\$32,264.22
Total	\$67,272.04
Scholarship Account	\$50
Sweep Account	\$8,686.84

Total for all accounts:	\$ 91,658.72
Total	\$24,386.68
CD	\$15,649.84

It was moved and seconded that the financial report be accepted. Motion carried.

Mark recognized the Audit Committee; Farris Hightower and Marty Hughes for their work, who found the books in order with a recommendation that in the future two checks be issued to the Executive Secretary; one for salary and a separate one for reimbursable expenses.

Vice President Albert Reyna reported on the membership status as follows:

2015 Regular Memberships Paid
2015 Associate Memberships Paid
32
Total Membership
99

Albert thanked the scholarship committee for 2015: Farris Hightower, Kenneth Ewings, and Steven Driewer for their work and presented the following scholarship status.

Luke Stutler –TTU

Kaylee Ites – Texas A&M

Former recipients: Calvin Welper withdrew for family reasons, Aspyn Martin transferred to a university in Oklahoma.

March 1<sup>st</sup> 2016, is the deadline for 2016 scholarship applications. Application forms are available on the TAIA website.

# **Upcoming Events**

Dana Porter reported on the upcoming High Plains Irrigation Conference and Trade Show February 4, 2016, Amarillo Civic Center North Exhibit Hall A. As of this date there are three event sponsors with booths and four other exhibitors. The technical program is essentially complete with a couple of speakers still to be confirmed

The 3<sup>rd</sup> Biennial North Texas – South Plains Water Conservation Symposium will be held February 24, in the Amarillo Civic Center. TAIA is a sponsor for this event and will have a booth. TAIA is completing 25 years of service next year. Mark emphasized the Silver Anniversary Membership Banquet and Celebration for members and spouses to be held Oct. 3,4 2016 in Fredericksburg and encouraged everyone to Save the Date! The Fredericksburg Convention and Tourism Bureau is helping with the planning and organization. Mark asked for everyone's input into making this celebration a success.

#### Officer and Board nominations for 2015

Mark thanked the Nomination Committee; Layne Hardesty, Edie Bartos Canale, and Steven Driewer for their work in presenting the following slate of board members and officers:

VP Albert Reyna to President (Kroy Industries)

Secretary-Treasurer Kenneth Ewings to Vice President (Senninger)

Secretary-Treasurer - John Taylor (Equipment Supply)

West Region Representative – Mark McCormick (Agricultural Precision Supply)

North Region Representative- Anthony Kingery (D&K Manufacturing)

At-Large Representative – Greg Sokora (NRCS-USDA)

It was moved and seconded that nominations be closed and these elected by acclamation. Motion carried.

Mark called for volunteers for following committees with resulting volunteers

Scholarship: Eddy Riggins, Kenneth Ewings, Bobby DeLeon

Nominations: Bobby De Leon. Matt Laursen

Audit: Kenneth Ewings, Farris Hightower.

Mark thanked the membership for their support in 2015 and introduced the incoming president for 2016, Albert Reyna, Kroy Industries.

President Albert Reyna thanked Mark for his service and leadership during the past year and presented him with a plaque in appreciation.

Meeting was adjourned at 9:05 PM.