## **Texas Agricultural Irrigation Association**

## Thursday, January 23, 2020

## Minutes for 2019 Annual Membership Meeting & Banquet

# Cagle Steaks & BBQ, Lubbock, Texas

Vice-President David Lott welcomed the group and a meal was served at 7 pm. Following the meal David introduced two representatives from Bayer Company: Jerry Bannister and Doug Stutler, who gave an interesting and informative review of the operation of the recently constructed seed processing plant north of Lubbock and the field operations required to supply the plant.

The Annual Meeting was called to order at 8:50 pm by Vice President Lott. Minutes of the 2018 annual meeting were reviewed and approved along with the following financial report.

### **Financial Report**

Regular Account	
Income 2019	\$18,683
Expenses 2019	\$15,663
Net for year	\$3,020
Scholarship Account	
Income 2019	\$1,720
Expenses 2019 stipends	\$5,000
Net for year	-\$3,280
January balances	
Checking Account	\$100
Sweep Account	\$20,539.57
CD	\$33,378.19
Total	\$54,017.76

Total for all accounts:	\$ 71,783.43
Total	\$17,765.67
CD	\$16,181.78
Sweep Account	\$1,533.89
Scholarship checking	\$50

Financial books were previously reviewed by the audit committee, Kenneth Ewings and Layne Hardesty, and found to be in order.

#### **Membership Status**

2019 Regular Memberships Paid	50
2019 Associate Memberships Paid	30
Total Membership	80

#### **Scholarship Status**

Scholarship Committee: Greg Sokora, Mark McCormick, Anthony Kingery

Holt Bivens –TTU

Emily Wade - TTU

Macey Lange – Texas A&M

Nicholas Fulbright – Tarleton State University

Carley Turner – Angelo State University

March 1<sup>st</sup> 2020 deadline for 2020 scholarship applications. Forms available on website

### 2019 Events

Texas Alliance for Water Conservation Water College, January 24, 2019, Lubbock, TX. TAIA was a sponsor and had a booth.

Texas Plant Protection Conference, December 10, 11, 2019. Bryan, Texas. TAIA was a sponsor and had a booth.

### Officer and Board nominations for 2020

Nomination Committee: Don Mooring, Bobby De Leon
VP David Lott to move up to President (Fresno)
Secretary-Treasurer Eddy Riggins to Vice President (Equipment Supply)
Secretary-Treasurer –Craig Jones (Netafim)
North Region Representative – McClain Pool (Eco-Drip)
West Representative – David Wiens (Green Planet Drip)

At-Large Representative – Tom Rial (High Tech Irrigation)

All nominees were elected by acclamation.

### **Committee appointments:**

Greg Sokora, Mark McCormick and Anthony Kingery agreed to continue on the Scholarship Committee.

Don Mooring and Bobby De Leon were appointed to continue on the Nominations Committee.

Kenneth Ewings and Layne Hardesty agreed to continue on the Audit Committee.

David Lott thanked absentee out- going President Bobby De Leon for his service and leadership during 2019 and presented a Plaque which Bobby will receive later.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:20 pm.