

Contact: Matt Mullally, director of sports information - E-mail: wdasports@wdasports.org - Cell: 701.776-5836 - Twitter: @WDAsports

Date: Feb. 22, 2020 For Immediate Release

2019-20 All-WDA boys' hockey awards announced

BISMARCK, N.D. – The Western Dakota Association announced 18 boys' hockey players earned 2019-20 All-WDA honors. Nine forwards, seven defenseman and two goalies were selected. Bismarck Century, Jamestown and Minot led all teams with three players selected. Bismarck High, Mandan, Dickinson and Willsiton had two representatives on the team while Bottineau-Rugby each had one player. Players were nominated and voted on by conference coaches. In addition, the region coach of the year was selected.

All-WDA

Bismarck High: Joseph Heinert, Sr., forward; Jack Steckler, Jr., defense Bismarck Century: Connor Hanson, Sr., defense; Colton Schulte, Jr., forward; Cullen Curl, Jr., defense Bottineau-Rugby: Ian Amsbaugh, Jr., forward Dickinson: Joseph Pavek, Sr., forward; Jaren Hugelen, Sr., defense Jamestown: Nolan Nenow, Fr., forward; Jace Thompson, Jr., forward; Riley Gerhardt, Sr., goalie Mandan: Carter Berger, Sr., forward; Josh Moe, Sr., defense Minot: Jayden Luck, So., forward; Riley Opperude, Jr., defense; Tre Sortland, Jr., goalie Williston: Kyle Mischke, Jr., forward; Jackson Ekblad, So., defense

Region Senior Athlete of the Year: Connor Hanson, Bismarck Century Region Coach of the Year: Leif Mattson, Mandan

#30