## Unity Area Regional Recycling Center

95 Leonard Road Phone: 207-568-3117
Thorndike, Maine 04986 Fax: 207-568-3119
email: recycle@uarrc.org website: www.uarrc.org

April 17, 2025

1. <u>Bring Meeting to Order</u>: Meeting brought to order at 7:06 p.m.

2. Board Members & Alternates Present:

Phil Bloomstein (Freedom)

Diana Hauser (Unity)

Jenny Tibbetts (Jackson)

Paige Zeigler (Montville)

Beth Soucie (Unity)

Kip Penney (Knox)

Ross Nason (Dixmont)

Rose Zoller (Troy)

Leigh Juskevice (Manager)

3. <u>Board Members & Alternates Absent</u>:

Michael Berry (Thorndike) Penny Stevens (Knox-ALT)

Jeri Roberts (Jackson-ALT)

[Currently, there are no Alternates representing the Towns of Unity, Thorndike, Freedom Montville, Troy, Dixmont]

4. <u>Agenda Adjustments</u>:

Going into Executive Session while discussing the hiring of a new employee.

5. Approve March 20, 2025 Board Meeting Minutes:

A Motion was Made, Seconded and Approved

6. <u>Election of Officers for Year April, 2025 to April, 2026</u>

Paige Zeigler was nominated to serve as Chairman

A Motion was Made, Seconded and Approved

Phil Bloomstein was nominated to serve as Vice-Chairman

A Motion was Made, Seconded and Approved

Diana Hauser was nominated to continue serving as Secretary

A Motion was Made, Seconded and Approved

The nomination of Treasurer was tabled until the next Board Meeting in May

\*Note: The duly elected Chairperson is authorized to be signatory for all checks and pertinent paperwork for Down East Credit Union.

## 7. <u>Manager's Report</u>:

Manager's Report April 17, 2025

MRRA presents awards for employees and volunteers at the yearly trade shows.

This year Dennis Payeur won an Honorable Mention for Volunteer of the Year for 30+ years volunteering here at UARRC. He declined to go to the Samoset for dinner and award ceremony.

Casey is leaving. His last day is 4/19. We have received one application and

interviewed one person already.

CMP came to check our system so they can give us a quote on 3-phase, but I haven't received that yet.

Checks have been coming in from the towns. We're currently missing payments from Dixmont, Knox and Montville.

Traffic for the month is 275

Dixmont	Freedom	Jackson	Knox	Montville	Thorndike	Troy Unity	Non-Resident	Total
Res Com	Res Com	Res Com Res C	om Res Com					
11 4	64	19	51 1	29 4	71 6	40 127 3	43 2	475
4 2	53	10	36 1	27 2	59 3	41 107 3	37 1	386
10 4	58	14	31	31 2	74 11	56 135 6	39 3	474

Res = Resident Com = Commercial

Months of January, February, March 2025

Town	Population
Dixmont	1211
Freedom	711
Jackson	610
Knox	811
Montville	1020
Thorndike	774
Troy	1018
Unity	2292

Total Population 8447

More Information about EPR from Vanessa Berry - NRCM

Next Wednesday, April 23rd at 1 p.m., there is a public hearing hearing scheduled for <u>LD 1423</u>: <u>An Act to Improve Recycling by Updating the Stewardship Program for Packaging</u>. Despite the helpful-sounding title, this bill does anything but improve recycling in Maine.

This proposal adds many blanket exemptions to the program for producers who don't want to pay their fair share for their waste, and those exemptions would keep towns paying for these costs. These proposed changes would also cause delays, meaning a longer wait for reimbursements that many towns cannot afford. We can't let this happen, but we need your help to make sure it doesn't!

Maine Lawmakers need to hear from towns and material managers that this program needs to be protected, and the proposed changes would make it harder for towns to get financial support they need for recycling. We urge you to submit testimony in opposition to LD 1423 for next Wednesday's hearing and consider reaching out to your elected officials to let them know that Maine's EPR for Packaging program needs to be protected.

If you have questions about the bill, or if you'd like to get more involved, please reach out to Vanessa Berry, Sustainable Maine program Manager at <a href="who bear to vberry@nrcm.org">wberry@nrcm.org</a> or by phone at 207-200-5927.

Dixmont State Rep Kenneth Wade Fredette

207-287-1440 Kenneth.Fredette@legislature.maine.gov

Representing District 33 State Senator Brad Farrin

207-634-3074 Brad.Farrin@legislature.maine.gov

Senate District 3

Freedom State Rep. Paul Flynn

207-314-5525

State Senate Chip Curry

207-323-9976 Chip.Curry@legislature.maine.gov

Senate District 3

Jackson/Knox/Unity/Thorndike State Rep. Benjamin Hymes

207-808-3413 Benjamin.Hymes@legislature.maine.gov

Representing District 3

Montville State Rep. Michael Ray

207-930-0371 Michael.Ray@legislature.maine.gov

Representing District 40

Troy State Rep. Amanda Collamore

207-679-7305 <u>Amanda.Collamore@legislature.maine.gov</u>

Representing District 68

8. Knox Withdrawal:

Discussion.

One point is that according to the Inter-Local agreement, Knox is required to send us the actual vote which they have not done.

The issue is being looked into at present.

9. <u>Executive Session</u>: Began at 7:29 p.m. Ended at 7:42 p.m.

10. Personnel Committee:

Discussion.

11. Waste Hub:

Waste Hub hopes to be in operation by the end of the year.

Even at full operation, they will not take all current recyclables.

Discussion on what this could mean for towns and the UARRC.

12. Adjournment:

A Motion was Made, Seconded and Approved to adjourn at 8.05 p.m.

13. Minutes Submitted:

Diana Hauser (Unity) UARRC Secretary